Top 5 Wednesday: Auto-Buy Sci-fi & Fantasy Authors

This post is part of Top 5 Wednesday, originally created by Lainey  and now hosted by the amazing Sam from Thoughtsontomes, you can find the goodreads group, with all the weekly topics here if you want to join in the fun.

April 11: Auto-Buy Scifi and Fantasy Authors – Booktube SFF Awards Babble Crossover Topic! 
— This month’s crossover topic is your auto-buy authors that write SFF.

We all have them, authors whose works we love so much that we just automatically buy their new releases because we’re almost guaranteed to like them. This weeks topic is limited to science fiction and fantasy authors, which makes this a little simpler. Due to the size of my TBR I’m trying to limit my automatic buying to books that I’ll dive into almost immediately.

1. V. E. Schwab

I almost always love her books, and when I don’t completely love them, I still enjoy them. She has such fantastic story ideas, that never fail to attract my attention. And seriously, she never stops writing, it blows my mind, and she definitely deserves a holiday, or at least a nap. As long as she continues to write such clever, dark stories, I will continue to buy them.

2. Becky Chambers

When an author writes one of your all time favourite books, you develop a lot of faith in them. You kind of want to repeat the experience of reading that book for the first time,  so of course you want to read any other books they write, especially when that author consistently writes what you consider five-star books. This is how I feel about Becky Chambers, The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet blew me away. It has so many elements that I adore, and it’s beautifully written. A Closed and Common Orbit was just as beautiful and touching, and I know that I’ll continue to buy Becky Chambers’ books as long as she keeps writing them.

3. Ben Aaronovitch

The Rivers of London series is only getting better, and I don’t see myself losing interest in the series any time soon. When I see that Ben Aaronovitch has a new book coming out, I automatically add it to my TBR. I just love his writing style so much, and I really enjoy the dry humour all his books have.

4. Leigh Bardugo

Leigh Bardugo is one of those authors who just keeps on getting better and better with each new book. She writes these amazing characters that are so easy to get attached to. I love that she’s not afraid to put her characters through hell, and she never makes too easy for them to succeed, making all her books incredibly gripping. Also, her world building is something special. I can not wait for more books from Leigh Bardugo!

5. Amie Kaufman

I’ve loved both her work with Jay Kristoff and Megan Spooner, so I feel like she deserves a place on this list. Plus she writes the most amazing young adult science fiction, and I’m automatically interested when I hear that she’s involved in a project.

Who are you’re auto-buy authors? I’d love to hear from you in the comments!

Want to chat, about books or anything else, here are some other places you can find me:


9 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Auto-Buy Sci-fi & Fantasy Authors

  1. 4/5 are total auto-buy authors for me too, I haven’t read anything by Ben Aaronovitch but the Rivers of London series sound right up my street!

    Like

  2. I DID NOT KNOW THAT THERE WAS A THIRD BOOK IN THE WAYFARER SERIES OMG. Okay, fangirling over.. My auto-buy authors are Rick Riordan, Richelle Mead, and Terry Pratchett (although he won’t ever have any new books, sadly)

    Like

  3. I just added Rivers of London to my TBR. I’ve seen it around a few times but haven’t really heard anything about it or seen anyone else talking about it, I also didn’t even know it was SFF?!

    Also Becky Chambers YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS.

    Like

Leave a comment