February 2018 Book Haul

Well, I didn’t exactly stick to my book buying ban, but I did manage to be a little bit more restrained with my book buying this month. I ended up reading more books than I bought, so I’m trying not to feel too bad. Although I’m not sure where I’m going to store all these, I think I’ll need to unhaul some books soon.

The Fandom – by Anna Day

The Fandom

Cosplay ready, Violet and her friends are at Comic-Con.

They can’t wait to meet the fandom of mega movie, The Gallows Dance. What they’re not expecting is to be catapulted by freak accident into their favourite world – for real. Fuelled by love, guilt and fear, can the friends put the plot back on track and get out? The fate of the story is in their hands …

I’ve been hearing some pretty great things about this book for a while, but I finally went out and bought a copy because this book was selected as the first book for the #cronebloggers book club. I started reading it the other day, I’m not sure what I think just yet but I am really looking forward to discussing it with everyone on the chat.

Scythe – by Neal Shusterman

Scythe.jpg

Thou shalt kill.

A world with no hunger, no disease, no war, no misery. Humanity has conquered all those things, and has even conquered death. Now scythes are the only ones who can end life—and they are commanded to do so, in order to keep the size of the population under control.

Citra and Rowan are chosen to apprentice to a scythe—a role that neither wants. These teens must master the “art” of taking life, knowing that the consequence of failure could mean losing their own.

This was on the buy one, get one half price table, and I can never resist that. So I’ve been hearing about this book for a while, and the concept seems really unique and interesting. Plus the author is pretty popular from what I’ve seen, so I decided to buy myself a copy, because I have no self-control, and what book buying ban?

Sightwitch – by Susan Dennard

Sightwitch

Before Safi and Iseult battled a Bloodwitch…

Before Merik returned from the dead…

Ryber Fortiza was a Sightwitch Sister at a secluded convent, waiting to be called by her goddess into the depths of the mountain. There she would receive the gift of foretelling. But when that call never comes, Ryber finds herself the only Sister without the Sight.

Years pass and Ryber’s misfit pain becomes a dull ache, until one day, Sisters who already possess the Sight are summoned into the mountain, never to return. Soon enough, Ryber is the only Sister left. Now, it is up to her to save her Sisters, though she does not have the Sight—and though she does not know what might await her inside the mountain.

On her journey underground, she encounters a young captain named Kullen Ikray, who has no memory of who he is or how he got there. Together, the two journey ever deeper in search of answers, their road filled with horrors, and what they find at the end of that road will alter the fate of the Witchlands forever.

Set a year before Truthwitch, Sightwitch is a companion novella that also serves as a set up to Bloodwitch, as well as an expansion of the Witchlands world.

I pre-ordered this because it was one of my most anticipated releases for this year and I wanted a copy in my possession as soon as possible. I adore this series, and I’m planning to devour this very soon, probably as part of a series reread.

Unite Me – by Tahereh Mafi

Unite Me.jpg

Perfect for fans of Tahereh Mafi’s New York Times bestselling Shatter Me trilogy, this book collects her two companion novellas, Fracture Me and Destroy Me, in print for the first time ever. It also features an exclusive look into Juliette’s journal and a preview of Ignite Me, the hotly anticipated final novel of the series.

Destroy Me tells the events between Shatter Me and Unravel Me from Warner’s point of view. Even though Juliette shot him in order to escape, Warner can’t stop thinking about her—and he’ll do anything to get her back. But when the Supreme Commander of The Reestablishment arrives, he has much different plans for Juliette. Plans Warner cannot allow.

Fracture Me is told from Adam’s perspective and bridges the gap between Unravel Me and Ignite Me. As the Omega Point rebels prepare to fight the Sector 45 soldiers, Adam’s more focused on the safety of Juliette, Kenji, and his brother. The Reestablishment will do anything to crush the resistance . . . including killing everyone Adam cares about.

After reading Shatter Me and really enjoying it, I knew I needed these novellas in my life. I’ve almost finished Destroy Me and I’m really enjoying it so far, it’s great to see Warner’s perspective.

Unearthed – by Amie Kaufman & Megan Spooner

Unearthed

When Earth intercepts a message from a long-extinct alien race, it seems like the solution the planet has been waiting for. The Undying’s advanced technology has the potential to undo environmental damage and turn lives around, and Gaia, their former home planet, is a treasure trove waiting to be uncovered.

For Jules Addison and his fellow scholars, the discovery of an alien culture offers unprecedented opportunity for study… as long as scavengers like Amelia Radcliffe don’t loot everything first. Mia and Jules’ different reasons for smuggling themselves onto Gaia put them immediately at odds, but after escaping a dangerous confrontation with other scavvers, they form a fragile alliance.

In order to penetrate the Undying temple and reach the tech and information hidden within, the two must decode the ancient race’s secrets and survive their traps. But the more they learn about the Undying, the more their presence in the temple seems to be part of a grand design that could spell the end of the human race…

I’m just really intrigued by the synopsis of this, not to mention all the comparisons to Tomb Raider and Indiana Jones. I really enjoyed Amie Kaufman and Megan Spooner’s writing in the Starbound trilogy, so my hopes are high for this.

How To Hang a Witch – by Adriana Mather

How to hang a witch.jpg

After Sam’s father is hospitalised, she has to move from New York to Salem with her stepmother, Vivian. Unfortunately, Sam is related to Cotton Mather, one of the men responsible for the Salem Witch Trials, and to say she feels unwelcome in Salem is an understatement… She is particularly unnerved by The Descendants, a mysterious and tight-knit group of girls related to those persecuted in the Trials. At the same time, she must deal with Elijah, the handsome but angry ghost who has appeared in her house, and her new neighbour Jaxon only complicates things further. 

I love books about witches, so I’m really interested in this. I’ve seen some interesting reviews around, and I have a feeling this will be a kind of nostalgic read for me. It would probably be great for Halloween, but I really hope I don’t leave it that long.

The Hate U Give – by Angie Thomas (Waterstones Special Edition)

The Hate U Give

Sixteen-year-old Starr lives in two worlds: the poor neighbourhood where she was born and raised and her posh high school in the suburbs. The uneasy balance between them is shattered when Starr is the only witness to the fatal shooting of her unarmed best friend, Khalil, by a police officer. Now what Starr says could destroy her community. It could also get her killed.

Stained yellow pages, and bonus content, I just really needed this in my life. I loved this book when I read it last year, so I couldn’t resist the opportunity for bonus content and a preview of Angie Thomas’ upcoming release!

Have you read any of these books? What did you think about them? I’d love to hear from you in the comments. 

Want to chat, about books or anything else, here are some other places you can find me:

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “February 2018 Book Haul

  1. We actually just picked up Scythe the other day too! We have been hearing so much hype about it! Hopefully we will all enjoy it when we get around to reading it 🙂

    Great haul!

    -Ash & Lo

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s