July Reading Wrap Up

July got off to a rough start as I fell into a reading slump. I just didn’t have the energy to focus on reading, and wasn’t feeling very motivated. It started to get me down, and things became a vicious cycle. It didn’t help that I got into watching Pretty Little Liars for the first time, that show is really addictive. But finally, on the 10th of the month, I managed to finish a book. I didn’t get to as many books as I would’ve liked, but those I did get to were so good that I don’t even mind that much.

Witchtown – by Cory Putman Oakes

Witchtown.jpg

This book made me feel kind of nostalgic, because it has similarities with a series I read, and loved, while I was in school. It was a really quick read, with a fast-paced plot and mysterious characters that kept me gripped to the very last page. As far as I know this is a standalone novel, but I would love to read more about this world and these characters either in the form of a direct sequel or a companion novel. There is such an interesting, well-developed world set out here, and I loved this story so much.

Rating: 5/5 Stars

Moxie – by Jennifer Mathieu

Moxie

This is the book that crushed my reading slump. I loved the feminist theme that dominated this book. It’s a book that I wish had been around a few years ago, a book that I think could help a lot of people. I have a full review here, if you want to read my more in-depth thoughts.

Rating: 5/5 Stars

Our Dark Duet – by V.E. Schwab

Our Dark Duet (UK)

I finally got to this book. I will admit that I was putting it off after seeing so many people saying that it destroyed them. All I can say is wow. This book totally blew me away, I loved This Savage Song, and this took that to another level. There is some great character development for our two main characters, and there are some really interesting ideas at play here. I’m so glad I finally got to it.

Rating: 5/5 Stars

A Closed and Common Orbit – by Becky Chambers

a-closed-and-common-orbit

This book has been high on my TBR since it was released, but I’ve been sightly anxious about starting it because A Long Way to a Small Angry Planet is possibly my favourite book, and that is a lot to live up to. But I had nothing to worry about, because this book is equally wonderful and touching. This has made me even more excited for the third book set in this world coming out next year!

Rating: 5/5 Stars.

Letters to the Lost – by Brigid Kemmerer

Letters to the Lost

This is a very last minute addition. I read this whole book on the very last day of July. Reading a book in a single day is unusual for me, which really goes to show how gripping this book is. It’s a powerful story about grief, incredibly emotional, and I’ve still not fully processed it all. Either way, it’s an incredibly moving book, and one I’m glad to have read.

Rating: 4.5/5 Stars.

And that’s it. Not as many books as I hoped I would get to, but I am in the middle of a few other books already. Hopefully August will be a better month. I still have a week left of my holiday (which is why I’ve not been around for the past week), so hopefully I should be able to get a decent amount of reading done. I hope everyone had a good month. What books have you been loving lately? Please let me know in the comments, I’d love to keep that reading slump in the past!

Want to chat, places you can find me:

4 thoughts on “July Reading Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

