Mid-year Freak Out Book Tag

I’ve been seeing this tag everywhere, and I just couldn’t help myself. As far as I am aware, I wasn’t tagged, but I’ve never let that stop me before. I think this tag is a great opportunity to look back at the year so far.

Best book you’ve read so far

Starting out with a tricky question, I recently narrowed it down to my top ten here, but if I had to narrow it down further I would say The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas and Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde both stand out for the effect they had on me and for how well they are written. I highly recommend them both if you haven’t picked them up yet.

Best sequel of 2017 so far

The Hanging Tree by Ben Aaronovitch. I adore this series and have never been disappointed by an instalment. I’ve only read a few sequels so far this year, but this one stands out as the one I enjoyed the most, now I’m back to waiting for more.

the-hanging-tree

New release you haven’t read yet but want to

There are so many books that I could mention here, but I’m going to go with Our Dark Duet by Victoria Schwab. It just came out, so I haven’t managed to get my hands on a copy just yet. (I’m being really strict with my book buying ban.) I was blown away by This Savage Song when I read it last year, and have been anticipating this book ever since. No doubt I will be picking this up soon, and if what I’ve been seeing is anything to go by, this book will definitely have an impact.

Our Dark Duet (UK).jpg

Most anticipated release for the second half of the year

The Language of Thorns by Leigh Bardugo, I love her writing, and the Grishaverse in general. The fact that these short stories are from that world, combined with the fact that they will be illustrated, has me very excited. Plus how stunning is that cover, I can tell this book will take my breath away.

The Language of Thorns

Biggest disappointment so far

Unknown Horizons by C.J. Birch, this book had a lot of potential, but the story was rushed, and the character development just wasn’t there. This one stands out  both as my only two star read of the year so far, and as the most frustrating read, because the ideas where good, the world was interesting, but the execution was disappointing and it ended with a to be continued that was just the final straw for me. The sad thing is, I’m curious about what happens next, just not enough to put myself through that reading experience again. If you want to read more of my thoughts on this, I posted a full review here.

Unknown Horizons

Biggest Surprise of the year so far

Spellslinger by Sebastien De Castell. I didn’t quite know what to expect from this one. The blurb promised magic, and trickery, I got that and much much more. This book actually blew me away – I have a full review here if you want to read my full thoughts on this book.

Spellslinger

Favourite new author

Becky Albertalli, I read both “Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda” and “The Upside of Unrequited” this year and not only did I really enjoy them both. I also couldn’t put them down, I literally binge read them. I am really looking forward to her next book, I’m sure I’ll love it too.

Newest favourite character

How can I pick just one new favourite character when I’ve met so many in the forty books that I’ve read so far this year.

Newest fictional crush

I don’t really have one. I enjoy a well written romance, and have read many great ones so far this year. But I wouldn’t go as far as to say I have any actual crushes.

A book that made you cry

History is All You Left Me, by Adam Silvera made me cry on numerous occasions. The main characters grief was so powerful, and written with such emotion that I found myself struck with sadness and loss. It’s rare for me to actually cry while reading once, let alone numerous times.

History Is All You Left Me

A book that made you happy

Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde and When Dimple met Rishi by Sandhya Menon both made me really happy. They are such feel good, enjoyable reads. This year I have really discovered the joys of contemporary books. I’ve definitely been missing out on some great books in the past.

The most beautiful book of the year so far

This book is breathtakingly lovely. With stained blue pages, art on the title page and that cover, I adore it. It’s even more beautiful in person, the moth is gold.

strange-the-dreamer

Some books I need to read before the end of 2017

There are so many books that I want to get read before the end of this year. These are some from the top of my list. I’m hoping that I’ll be able to tick some of these off sooner rather than later, but with so many great new books coming out, my TBR is constantly growing.

I can’t believe we are more than half way through the year already. It’s freaking me out a little. I’m not going to tag anyone specifically because so many people have done this tag already, but if you do want to do this tag, consider yourself tagged and please let me know, I’d love to see you’re answers. And as always, I love to chat and see your thoughts in the comments.

Want to chat, places you can find me:

2 thoughts on “Mid-year Freak Out Book Tag

  1. Geekerella is so good!! I’ve been wanting to read The Hate U Give and I do have it at home, I just feel like I need to really take time to read this book and not just simply in between some busy parts of my day 😦 I bought both This Savage Song and Our Dark Duet on vacation and they’re so pretty! Can’t wait to start them ❤

    Like

  2. Uprooted is amazing! I do hope you get to it this year! Spellslinger looks great! I’ve never heard of it but I’m going to add it to my goodreads tbr right now!

    Like

Leave a Reply

