June Book Haul

I managed to avoid buying myself books for most of the month, but due to some pretty good luck, that didn’t stop the book mail. To be honest I don’t know why I even try to enforce a book buying ban any more. It only makes not buying books more difficult, and with so many amazing books out there, I don’t stand a chance.

The Waking Lands – by Callie Bates

The Waking Land

It’s been fourteen years, since King Antoine took Elanna hostage. Fourteen years since her father’s rebellion failed. Fourteen years spent being raised by the man who condemned her people to misery. A man she’s come to love as a father.

Now 20, Elanna is about to be taken prisoner once again… but this time by her father’s mysterious righthand man.

Her father wants to reignite his rebellion, this time using Elanna as figurehead. He will tell his followers she is the legendary Wildegarde reborn, a sorceress who could make the very earth tremble.

But what no one knows is that magic really does flow through Elanna’s veins. Now she must decide which side she’s on, and whether she’ll use her powers for mercy… or revenge.

This seemed like an interesting fantasy novel, and I’ve been trying to read more new to me authors so when I saw this was available to request via bookbridgr, I went for it. I recently started reading and so far I’m intrigued. There is an interesting magic system, but I have quite a few unanswered questions. I will be posting a full review once I am finished reading.

Song of the Current – by Sarah Tolcser

Song of the Current

Caroline Oresteia is destined for the river. For generations, her family has been called by the river god, who has guided their wherries on countless voyages throughout the Riverlands. At seventeen, Caro has spent years listening to the water, ready to meet her fate. But the river god hasn’t spoken her name yet—and if he hasn’t by now, there’s a chance he never will.

Caro decides to take her future into her own hands when her father is arrested for refusing to transport a mysterious crate. By agreeing to deliver it in exchange for his release, Caro finds herself caught in a web of politics and lies, with dangerous pirates after the cargo—an arrogant courier with a secret—and without the river god to help her. With so much at stake, Caro must choose between the life she always wanted and the one she never could have imagined for herself.

I actually won an ARC copy of this on a goodreads giveaway. I was so shocked when I saw the email. It’s stunning, I cannot wait to read it, especially since it ranks highly on my anticipated releases for this year.

Show Stopper – by Hayley Barker

Show Stopper

Set in a near-future England where the poorest people in the land are forced to sell their children to a travelling circus – to perform at the mercy of hungry lions, sabotaged high wires and a demonic ringmaster. The ruling class visit the circus as an escape from their structured, high-achieving lives – pure entertainment with a bloodthirsty edge. Ben, the teenage son of a draconian government minister, visits the circus for the first time and falls instantly in love with Hoshiko, a young performer. They come from harshly different worlds – but must join together to escape the circus and put an end to its brutal sport.

I had some really good luck this month, because this is another stunning ARC I won via a giveaway, this time on twitter. It is stunning, I’m really excited to read it.

Spellbook of the Lost and Found – by Moïra Fowley Doyle

Spellbook of the lost and found

One stormy summer night, Olive and her best friend, Rose, begin to lose things. It starts with simple items like hair clips and jewellery, but soon it’s clear that Rose has lost something bigger; something she won’t talk about.

Then Olive meets three wild, mysterious strangers: Ivy, Hazel and Rowan. Like Rose, they’re mourning losses – and holding tight to secrets.

When they discover the ancient spellbook, full of hand-inked charms to conjure back lost things, they realise it might be their chance to set everything right. Unless it’s leading them towards secrets that were never meant to be found . . .

This is where I broke my book buying ban, but I’ve been wanting to read this for months, and it’s finally out. That cover is perfect, I love it so much. This promises to be an atmospheric read, I want to fully appreciate it.

Our Dark Duet – by V.E. Schwab

Our Dark Duet (UK)

Kate Harker is a girl who isn’t afraid of the dark. She’s a girl who hunts monsters. And she’s good at it. August Flynn is a monster who can never be human, no matter how much he once yearned for it. He’s a monster with a part to play. And he will play it, no matter the cost.

Nearly six months after Kate and August were first thrown together, the war between the monsters and the humans is terrifying reality. In Verity, August has become the leader he never wished to be, and in Prosperity, Kate has become the ruthless hunter she knew she could be. When a new monster emerges from the shadows—one who feeds on chaos and brings out its victim’s inner demons—it lures Kate home, where she finds more than she bargained for. She’ll face a monster she thought she killed, a boy she thought she knew, and a demon all her own.

One does not simply wait to pick up a new V.E. Schwab book. I needed a copy of this on standby as soon as possible. I’ve not started it yet, but it won’t be long before I do. I was blown away by This Savage Song last year, I’m interested to see where this book goes. I just finished A Conjuring of Light, the shades of magic finale, and I’m scared this book will break me.

The Percy Jackson Series – by Rick Riordan

percy-jackson-x-5-book-set-series-collection-5-book-box-set-25376-p.jpg

Percy Jackson is a good kid, but he can’t seem to focus on his schoolwork or control his temper. And lately, being away at boarding school is only getting worse—Percy could have sworn his pre-algebra teacher turned into a monster and tried to kill him. When Percy’s mom finds out, she knows it’s time that he knew the truth about where he came from, and that he go to the one place he’ll be safe. She sends Percy to Camp Half Blood, a summer camp for demigods (on Long Island), where he learns that the father he never knew is Poseidon, God of the Sea. Soon a mystery unfolds and together with his friends—one a satyr and the other the demigod daughter of Athena—Percy sets out on a quest across the United States to reach the gates of the Underworld (located in a recording studio in Hollywood) and prevent a catastrophic war between the gods.

Okay, this was a total, impulse buy. A five book box set for £10, I couldn’t resist. Especially since I enjoyed the first book so much when I reread it earlier in the year. I’ve been meaning to finally finish this series and get to all the other Rick Riordan books. Now I’ve got no excuses, it’s time to get started.

Roar – by Cora Carmack

Roar.jpg

In a land ruled and shaped by violent magical storms, power lies with those who control them.

Aurora Pavan comes from one of the oldest Stormling families in existence. Long ago, the ungifted pledged fealty and service to her family in exchange for safe haven, and a kingdom was carved out from the wildlands and sustained by magic capable of repelling the world’s deadliest foes. As the sole heir of Pavan, Aurora’s been groomed to be the perfect queen. She’s intelligent and brave and honorable. But she’s yet to show any trace of the magic she’ll need to protect her people.

To keep her secret and save her crown, Aurora’s mother arranges for her to marry a dark and brooding Stormling prince from another kingdom. At first, the prince seems like the perfect solution to all her problems. He’ll guarantee her spot as the next queen and be the champion her people need to remain safe. But the more secrets Aurora uncovers about him, the more a future with him frightens her. When she dons a disguise and sneaks out of the palace one night to spy on him, she stumbles upon a black market dealing in the very thing she lacks—storm magic. And the people selling it? They’re not Stormlings. They’re storm hunters.

Legend says that her ancestors first gained their magic by facing a storm and stealing part of its essence. And when a handsome young storm hunter reveals he was born without magic, but possesses it now, Aurora realizes there’s a third option for her future besides ruin or marriage. 

She might not have magic now, but she can steal it if she’s brave enough. 

Challenge a tempest. Survive it. And you become its master.

This was the book included in June’s Fairyloot box. I’ve heard some mixed things about this one, but I will probably get to it at some point. I like elemental magic systems and the idea of storm magic sounds interesting, it’s not something I’ve seen a lot of before.

So, basically, my book buying escalated pretty suddenly towards the end of this month. I think it’s something I do to make myself feel better, but I have no space, and I would like to save money. Who am I kidding, I am a book hoarder, I have a problem, but they make me feel calm and happy. Please let me know if you’ve read any of these books, I’d love to hear your thoughts.

Want to chat, places you can find me:

One thought on “June Book Haul

  1. I read the Percy Jackson series last month and flew through them. I seriously read all five of them in a week, haha.
    Already read Roar – yay FairyLoot! – and loved it as well. The whole concept of the stormhunters.. I found it innovating really.
    All the other books you’ve bought are on my TBR, haha. Why do bookworms always have TBR’s of miles and miles long…

    Like

Leave a Reply

