Top Ten Tuesday – Best Books of 2017 so far

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly list prompt hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. The theme for this week is:

June 27: Best Books You’ve Read In 2017 So Far (break it down however you want — by genre, strictly 2017 releases, whatever!)

I have finished 39 books so far this year, which I am incredibly happy with, so I have quite a selection to choose from. I feel like I’ve been quite lucky in that I have really enjoyed the vast majority of the books I’ve picked up this year, which I think has helped me keep up momentum with my reading. I’m hoping this trend continues for the rest of the year. So, in no particular order, because that’s just too difficult;

1 – Labyrinth Lost – by Zoraida Córdova

I am so glad that I finally picked up this book recently. It is wonderfully atmospheric, with a fantastic magic system, interesting world building and a great set of characters. This book left me wanting more from the world and characters in the best possible way.

labyrinth-lost

2 – The Star-Touched Queen – by Roshani Chokshi

Beautifully written, this vivid Hades and Persephone inspired story incorporates Indian folklore to create a magical reading experience. I can’t believe I left this on my TBR for so long. 

the-star-touched-queen

3 – Defy the Stars – by Claudia Gray

I have a full review here if you want to know more, but this is a fantastic character driven sci-fi, with multiple worlds, and interesting societies. It is really well written and I definitely want another book in this world with these characters.

defy-the-stars

4 – The Hate U Give – by Angie Thomas

This book was so moving, so well written and so incredibly important. This book has so much heart, it made me cry, it made me laugh, and I cared so much for the characters. Everyone should read this book, at least once.

The Hate U Give

5 – Queens of Geek – Jen Wilde

I flew through this book, and loved every minute. It has some great representation, is really well written and is full of fun fandom references. So relatable, fun and cute. Where has this book been all my life!

Queens of Geek

6 – The Hanging Tree – by Ben Aaronovitch

The Peter Grant series continues to be one of my favourites, and I will recommend these books to everyone. Each instalment just keeps getting better and better. I love the way magic is integrated into the real world and law enforcement, not to mention, these books are damn funny.

the-hanging-tree

7 – Dreadnought – by April Daniels

This book made a huge impression on me. It’s told in the first person, so I really connected to the main character, Danny, a trans lesbian whose body transforms when she acquires superpowers. There is a lot of emotional depth in this book, and a great amount of character development and focus, as well as super-heroism. It’s fantastic, I recommend it to everyone, my review is here, I can’t wait to read the sequel.

dreadnought

8 – The Upside of Unrequited – by Becky Albertalli

This was my introduction to Becky Albertalli’s writing, and I couldn’t put it down. I really related to the characters on a number of levels, I enjoyed the romance and really enjoyed the over all story. I have a full review here, if you want to know more of my thoughts.

the-upside-of-unrequited

9 – Truthwitch – by Susan Dennard

I was quickly enchanted by this world and the magic system in this book. I really liked the main characters and loved the strong female friendship at the forefront of this book. I have a full review here, if you are interested.

truthwitch

10 -When Dimple Met Rishi – by Sandhya Menon

This book was cute and funny and well written, there is so much to love. I became so invested and attached to the characters that I didn’t want to finish the book. I look forward to reading what Sandhya Menon writes next. I have a review for this book here, if you want to hear more about how awesome this book is.

When Dimple met Rishi

There’s my list, each one of these books were five-star reads for me, I loved them and recommend them. I feel so lucky that I have read so many great books so far this year, and discovered so many wonderful ‘new to me’ authors. I want to thank any one who has left me a recommendation in the comments in the past, I always take note of the books people recommend. If you have any recommendations for me after reading this list, please leave them in the comments.

Want to chat, places you can find me:

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Best Books of 2017 so far

  1. YES to THUG and When Dimple Met Rishi! You’ve got so many books on here that I want to get to asap, including Queens of Geek, Dreadnought, Labyrinth Lost and Upside! I’ve read Truthwitch and The Star-Touched Queen too, so clearly we have pretty similar reading tastes! Great post!

    Like

  2. Awesome picks! I just read Dreadnought last week and thought it was fantastic! I loved the combination of superheroes and LGBTQ+ characters. It was a really emotional yet fun read! I just bought When Dimple Meets Rishi but I’m really excited to read that one! I’ve heard a lot of good things 😀 I still have to read some of the others though!

    Like

  3. Great list! I haven’t read any of these yet, but so many of them are on my TBR. I especially want to read When Dimple Met Rishi and Queens of Geek! Both of those books sound like so much, and I’ve heard so many good things about them both. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

