Review: When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

When Dimple met Rishi

Title: When Dimple Met Rishi
Author: Sandhya Menon
Publisher: Hodder Paperbacks
Format: E-ARC via Netgalley
Publication Date: 1st June 2017
Rating: 5/5 Stars

Description

Meet Dimple.

Her main aim in life is to escape her traditional parents, get to university and begin her plan for tech world domination.

Meet Rishi.

He’s rich, good-looking and a hopeless romantic. His parents think Dimple is the perfect match for him, but she’s got other plans…

Dimple and Rishi may think they have each other figured out. But when opposites clash, love works hard to prove itself in the most unexpected ways.

Perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell, Jenny Han and Nicola Yoon, WHEN DIMPLE MET RISHI is a frothy, funny contemporary romance set at a coding convention in San Francisco over one exciting summer. Told from the dual perspectives of two Indian American protagonists, Dimple is fighting her family traditions while Rishi couldn’t be happier to follow in the footsteps of his parents. Could sparks fly between this odd couple, or is this matchmaking attempt doomed to fail?

Disclaimer

This book was kindly provided to me for honest review by the Publisher via Netgalley. This has not impacted on the content of this review, which it my own honest opinion.

Review

When Dimple met Rishi was so easy to get into, the writing style was wonderful. I loved that we got the perspectives of both Dimple and Rishi, it worked really well. Although, at first, I sometimes found the changes a little confusing while I was still getting used to their different voices. Regardless, I became attached to the two of them early on. Dimple is headstrong, she has a passion for coding and knows exactly what she wants to do with her life. Rishi is more traditional, a genuinely nice person, who wants to make people happy.

I adored how cute this book was. The progression of Dimple and Rishi’s relationship as the got to know each other was wonderful. I especially liked how we got to see it from both points of view. This book made me giggle with glee, go all mushy at the cuteness and ultimately really root for the main characters. It’s been a while since a book had me this invested in a romance, especially a stand alone novel. As well as cute, this book was also funny. The humour was strong throughout, which really added to my overall enjoyment.

Something I really appreciated was the complexity of the characters, especially the main four characters. They felt like real people, which only made me more invested. Of course I have to mention the diversity. While I myself am white, and as such cannot speak to the representation in this book, I have only heard positive responses thus far. Additionally I enjoyed seeing the culture and how Dimple and Rishi felt differently about their culture and identities. I also appreciated seeing their parents, and how those relationships varied, and developed for different characters.

All in all, I loved this book. I want to read it again. I want to know what the characters do next, because I genuinely like them, and don’t want to leave them. I’ve been reading a lot more YA contemporary novels recently, but this one is easily one of my favourites simply because of how quickly I became absorbed by the story, the characters, and how cute and funny the book was as a whole. When Dimple met Rishi easily deserves 5/5 Stars.

Want to chat, places you can find me:

2 thoughts on “Review: When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

Leave a Reply

