Top 5 Wednesday – Books for Hufflepuffs

This post is part of Top 5 Wednesday, created by Lainey , and now hosted by Sam from Thoughtsontomes, you can find the goodreads group, with all the weekly topics here.

June 7th: Books For Your Hogwarts House
— Show your Hogwarts House Pride, and tell us the top 5 books that represent your house!

I am a proud Hufflepuff, it took me a while to realise it, and I do have some Ravenclaw traits, but I definitely fit more in Hufflepuff. Even so this weeks topic was a little tricky for me. There was nothing that immediately came to mind when I read the prompt. Even so, sometimes the best prompts make you think about what you’ve read. I tried to focus on heart-warming books with kind, loyal characters. Although I have to admit, this was more difficult than I thought it would be. 

1 – Juniper Lemon’s Happiness Index – by Julie Israel

Driven by grief, when Juniper sees others hurting, she wants to help them, and becomes a good friend to several people over the course of the book, standing up to bullies. The book also addresses how some of her actions could be seen as trying to ‘fix’ an individual and explains how that might feel to them, but all her actions come from good intentions. Overall a book about coping with loss, building strong friendships, trust, and first love.

Juniper Lemon's Happiness Index

2 – When Dimple Met Rishi – by Sandhya Menon

This book was so adorably cute, with two very lovable main characters, not to mention some great side characters, a summer in San Francisco and even a dance number. The book is the perfect mix of cute, funny and heart-warming. Also I’m fairly sure that Rishi would be a Hufflepuff.

When Dimple met Rishi

3 – Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them – by J.K. Rowling

Okay, this is kind of cheating, but Newt Scamander was a Hufflepuff so I’m running with it. The movie totally gives me the warm and fuzzies every time I watch it, it immediately became a favourite. I adore this extension to the Wizarding World.

fantastic-beasts

4 – The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet – by Becky Chambers

The book of my soul. I adore this book, and its wonderful ensemble of characters. There are definitely some Hufflepuff’s in the mix, Lovie for sure. This book is about a small crew on a long journey through space, they are like family, not perfect but loyal to each other when it really matters.

small-angry-planet

5 – The Upside of Unrequited – by Becky Albertalli

Molly is such a Hufflepuff, she has so much love in her heart and she cares so much for the people she loves. I adored this book, and it definitely gave me so many warm and fluffy feelings.

the-upside-of-unrequited

I struggled more than I thought I would with this one. I could think of loads of examples for the other houses, but not many for my own house. I feel like a bad Hufflepuff. That said, the books that I did settle on are some of my all time favourites. That has to count for something, right? What Hogwarts house are you in? Got any recommendations for Hufflepuff books that I should read? As always, I’d love to hear from you in the comments.

Want to chat, places you can find me:

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday – Books for Hufflepuffs

  1. Ohh, I love these choices! I’ve recently accumulated When Dimple Met Rishi and now I can’t wait to read it! I’m a Hufflepuff myself (at least I think so? I’ve been sorting into like 3 different houses lol) so I’ll definitely try to read some of these books on your list!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great choices! Ravenclaw is my first house, but Hufflepuff is a close second. Totally with you on Upside of Unrequited and The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet being fabulous books for a Hufflepuff.

    Like

Leave a Reply

