Top Ten Tuesday – Recent Additions to my TBR

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly list prompt hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. The theme for this week is:

June 6:  10 Books From X Genre That I’ve Recently Added To My TBR ListI want to know what books have piqued your interest lately from whatever genre you choose!

This weeks prompt asks for top ten recent additions of a specific genre, but since I’ve been trying to limit the books that I put on my TBR (because the size of it has been feeling increasingly overwhelming) I have decided to just leave it at recent additions to my TBR. I’ve picked the ones that I am most excited to read.

1 – A Crown of Wishes – by Roshani Chokshi

I adored The Star-Touched Queen when I finally read it last week, and now I am desperate to read more in this world. I know this is more of a companion novel, with different main characters, but I loved Roshani Chokshi’s writing style and the vivid world she crafted in the first book. I can’t wait to lose myself in her words all over again.

A Crown of Wishes.jpg

2 – Circle Unbroken (Brooklyn Brujas #2) – by Zoraida Córdova

There is no cover for this, to be honest there is very little information about this book at all, except that it is a companion novel from Lula’s perspective. I finally picked up Labyrinth Lost the other day and so far, I am loving it, so of course I’m now super excited to know that there will be more. Even if I have to wait for it. 

labyrinth-lost

3 – Song of the Current – by Sarah Tolcser

I was completely shocked when I got the email to say I won an ARC of this on goodreads. It arrived on Friday in a stunningly shiny envelope, and jumped right to the top of my TBR. I’ve had my eye on this one for a little while, and now that I have a copy, I’ll be jumping on this soon. 

Song of the Current

4 – Runemarks – by Joanne M. Harris

This was a complete impulse purchase, that wasn’t even on my radar until I saw it on a table in my local Waterstones. But it has an interesting premise, an I’ve been really motivated to read more new to me authors, and add some variation into the books that I read. My hopes are quite high for this book.

Runemarks

5 – Daughter of the Burning City – by Amanda Foody

I just got accepted for an E-ARC on Netgalley today and I am honestly really excited to read this book. I first heard about it on twitter, and fell in love with the idea as soon as I read the synopsis on goodreads. The concept seems really unique and interesting, I have really high hopes for this one. 

Daughter of the Burning City

6 – The Space Between the Stars – by Anne Corlett

I heard about this for the first time over the weekend, and the more I hear about it, the more I want to read it. The book follows a woman living far from Earth, who decides to travel back along with a ragtag group of people she meets on the way. This sounds like what I have been looking for, I love books with space travel, and hopefully this will be the character driven story I need.

The Space Between the Stars

7 – The Waking Land – by Callie Bates

I received an early copy of this last week after requesting it via bookbridgr. It’s on my TBR for this month, and I’m really interested in reading this new fantasy debut.  

The Waking Land

8 – Sleeping Giants – by Sylvain Neuvel

I’ve been seeing glowing reviews for this for a while now, and recently I bought myself a copy. It sounds really interesting, and I like the idea that it is told through interview transcripts, journal entries and mission logs, this is a Sci-fi novel that I am really excited to get to.

Sleeping Giants

9 – Forest of a Thousand Lanterns – by Julie C. Dao

This East Asian fantasy retelling sounds both dark and intriguing. Forest of a thousand lanterns is coming out this October, early reviews have been really positive, and I will most definitely be picking it up.

Forest of a thousand lanterns

10 – Spellbook of the Lost and Found – by Moïra Fowley-Doyle

This sounds so atmospheric and eerie, and full of secrets. Currently it’s sitting in my Amazon basket waiting for me to have a weak moment and break my book buying ban. Also how amazing is this cover, I mean it’s perfect.

Spellbook of the lost and found.jpg

So here we have it, these are all books that I am really looking forward to, and recent additions to my TBR. I hope that I can get to at least some of these in the next few months. Have you read any of these books? Did you enjoy them? I’d love to hear in the comments.

Want to chat, places you can find me:

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Recent Additions to my TBR

  1. These are some great picks for this week! I’ve also got Runemarks, Spellbook of The Lost and Found, Sleeping Giants and Labyrinth Lost on my TBR. The only one I currently have in hardback is Runemarks, but I’m hoping to get the others soon! Is one of these at the very top of your TBR? 🙂

    Like

  2. How did I not know that the 2nd Brooklyn Brujas novel was a companion novel rather than a sequel?! I wanted to see more of Alex and Rishi and now I’m sad, hahaha. I’m sure it’ll still be a great book though. Most of these are on my TBR too. I’m especially excited for Forest of a Thousand Lanterns and Daughter of the Burning City.

    Like

Leave a Reply

