May Reading Wrap Up

I was on a roll with my reading for most of this month, I did get a little bit slumpy towards the end of the month, but I think I’m back on track. I somehow managed to read everything on my TBR and then some this month, which I have to say, feels great. I’m hoping to keep up the momentum into June.

Countless – by Karen Gregory

Countless

When Hedda discovers she is pregnant, she doesn’t believe she could ever look after a baby. The numbers just don’t add up. She is young, and still in the grip of an eating disorder that controls every aspect of how she goes about her daily life. She’s even given her eating disorder a name – Nia. But as the days tick by, Hedda comes to a decision: she and Nia will call a truce, just until the baby is born. 17 weeks, 119 days, 357 meals. She can do it, if she takes it one day at a time …

This was not an easy book to read, but it was so heartbreaking and powerfully honest. It’s really hard to say much about this book, there is so much to talk about but I don’t want to spoil it for anyone. I do have a review which can be found here, where I have tried to do this book justice. Trigger warning for eating disorders.

Rating: 4/5 Stars

A Court of Wings and Ruin – By Sarah J Maas

ACOWAR (finished)

Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin’s maneuverings and the invading king threatening to bring Prythian to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit-and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre, but for her world as well.

As war bears down upon them all, Feyre must decide who to trust amongst the dazzling and lethal High Lords-and hunt for allies in unexpected places.

I dropped everything to pick this up as soon as it came out, because I heard that there were spoilers everywhere and I’ve been spoiled for other series conclusions recently. I managed to get through the whole thing and only got spoiled for one thing. I’m not sure how I feel about this, I’m really invested in the characters and the world, but this book didn’t quite get to me as much as the previous installments. It was good, I did enjoy it, but I wasn’t blown away, perhaps I’m just noticing the flaws in the writing more now.

Rating: 4.5/5 Stars

Spellslinger – by Sebastien De Castell

Spellslinger

Kellen is moments away from facing his first mage’s duel and the start of four trials that will make him a spellcaster. There’s just one problem: his magic is gone.

As his sixteenth birthday approaches, Kellen falls back on his cunning in a bid to avoid total disgrace. But when a daring stranger arrives in town, she challenges Kellen to take a different path.

Ferius Parfax is one of the mysterious Argosi – a traveller who lives by her wits and the three decks of cards she carries. She’s difficult and unpredictable, but she may be Kellen’s only hope…

It took some effort at first, to get into this one, but soon I was really enjoying it and by the end I was not only loving this book, but also really excited for the second installment. I have a full review for this, which you can find here if you want to know more of my thoughts.

Rating: 5/5 Stars

The Hate U Give – by Angie Thomas

The Hate U Give

Sixteen-year-old Starr lives in two worlds: the poor neighbourhood where she was born and raised and her posh high school in the suburbs. The uneasy balance between them is shattered when Starr is the only witness to the fatal shooting of her unarmed best friend, Khalil, by a police officer. Now what Starr says could destroy her community. It could also get her killed.

This is a book that I would recommend to everyone. It’s a powerful story about, a girl named star who witnesses the shooting of her unarmed best friend by the police. It’s a horrific tragedy, and one that happens too often in real life. But’s about more than that, and I think that everybody should read this for themselves.

Rating: 5/5 Stars

Flame in the Mist

flame-in-the-mist

The only daughter of a prominent samurai, Mariko has always known she’d been raised for one purpose and one purpose only: to marry. Never mind her cunning, which rivals that of her twin brother, Kenshin, or her skills as an accomplished alchemist. Since Mariko was not born a boy, her fate was sealed the moment she drew her first breath.

So, at just seventeen years old, Mariko is sent to the imperial palace to meet her betrothed, a man she did not choose, for the very first time. But the journey is cut short when Mariko’s convoy is viciously attacked by the Black Clan, a dangerous group of bandits who’ve been hired to kill Mariko before she reaches the palace.

The lone survivor, Mariko narrowly escapes to the woods, where she plots her revenge. Dressed as a peasant boy, she sets out to infiltrate the Black Clan and hunt down those responsible for the target on her back. Once she’s within their ranks, though, Mariko finds for the first time she’s appreciated for her intellect and abilities. She even finds herself falling in love—a love that will force her to question everything she’s ever known about her family, her purpose, and her deepest desires.

I was over the moon when I was accepted for an advanced reader copy of this. I loved Renee Ahdieh’s previous books and was excited to see what she did next. I really enjoyed this book, and it was definitely different from a lot of books that I’ve read. I will have a full review for this up soon.

Rating: 4/5 Stars

When Dimple Met Rishi – by Sandhya Menon

When Dimple met Rishi

Meet Dimple.

Her main aim in life is to escape her traditional parents, get to university and begin her plan for tech world domination.

Meet Rishi.

He’s rich, good-looking and a hopeless romantic. His parents think Dimple is the perfect match for him, but she’s got other plans…

Dimple and Rishi may think they have each other figured out. But when opposites clash, love works hard to prove itself in the most unexpected ways.

Perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell, Jenny Han and Nicola Yoon, WHEN DIMPLE MET RISHI is a frothy, funny contemporary romance set at a coding convention in San Francisco over one exciting summer. Told from the dual perspectives of two Indian American protagonists, Dimple is fighting her family traditions while Rishi couldn’t be happier to follow in the footsteps of his parents. Could sparks fly between this odd couple, or is this matchmaking attempt doomed to fail?

I loved this book. It totally lives up to the hype that it has been getting. I don’t usually gravitate towards romance focused contemporaries, but that may change because this was so freaking adorable and gave me all the feels. I became so attached and invested in the characters that I really want a second book.

Rating: 5/5 Stars

 One of us is lying – by Karen M. McManus

One of us is lying

On Thursday afternoon, five students at Bayview High walk into detention. Bronwyn, the brain, is Yale-bound and never breaks a rule. Addy, the beauty, is the picture-perfect homecoming princess. Nate, the bad boy, is already on probation for dealing. Cooper, the jock, is the all-star baseball pitcher. And Simon, the outcast, is the creator of Bayview High’s notorious gossip app. Only, Simon never makes it out of that classroom. Before the end of detention, Simon’s dead. And according to investi­gators, his death wasn’t an accident.

On Thursday, he died. But on Friday, he’d planned to post juicy reveals about all four of his high-profile classmates, which makes all four of them suspects in his murder. Or are they just the perfect patsies for a killer who’s still on the loose? Everyone has secrets, right? What really matters is how far you would go to protect them.

I was completely ‘stay awake past bedtime’ gripped by this book. I didn’t quite know what to expect, but I was seriously impressed by how well this was written. It’s really clever, keeping me guessing for a really long time. I have a full review for this, which you can read here, but I highly recommend this if you are in the mood for a good, who-done-it murder mystery.

Rating: 4.5/5 Stars

Those are all the books that I finished in May, I was almost in a reading slump towards the end of the month. Because of this I am currently a good chunk of the way through three different books, which I will be trying to finish as soon as possible, hopefully getting June off to a good start.

Have you read any of these books? What did you think? Got any recommendations for me? As always, I’d love to hear in the comments.

Want to chat, places you can find me:

 

6 thoughts on “May Reading Wrap Up

  1. You really were on a roll with your reading this May! Looks like you got through some really great books. I read ACOWAR as well, and while I wasn’t as impressed with it as I was with ACOMAF, I still found it really enjoyable. I also read Flame in the Mist and thought that was amazing 😀 Haven’t read the other ones yet, but I’m really excited to read The Hate U Give (which I own) and When Dimple Met Rishi (which I will own very very soon)! I haven’t heard of Spellsinger but it sounds like something I’d really enjoy. I’ll have to look into that one further. Glad you had such a wonderful month of reading. Hope June proves just as successful for you! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thankyou 🙂 I still can’t quite put my finger on what it was about ACOWAR, I enjoyed it, but it didn’t reach ACOMAF, I’m glad it’s not just me. I hope you enjoy The Hate U Give & When Dimple Met Rishi as much as I did, I think they were possibly some of my favourites this month! I hope June is a good month for you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. No, not just you. For me, I think there wasn’t as much ground-breaking character development as there was in ACOMAF. And not as many definitive themes explored, at least not to the extent of ACOMAF. I think… not completely sure 😅 And thank you! I hope so too!

        Like

Leave a Reply

