May Book Haul

I bought a few more books than planned this month, but I don’t think I did too badly. Especially since I read more books than normal this month. I will admit that I bought some of these books because I was feeling down, it’s a bad habit, one I need to break, but this month I kept it to a minimum.

A Court of Wings and Ruin – by Sarah J Maas

This is a book that I pre-ordered so I could get to it as soon as possible because I knew that once it was out in the world spoilers would be everywhere. I have already read this, since I really didn’t want to get spoiled, so I started reading it as soon as it arrived. I flew through it, finding it really difficult to put down, and managed to only get spoiled for one minor plot point.

IMG_20170506_101718_243

Sleeping Giants – by Sylvain Neuvel

I’ve heard really good things about this book from both reviewers and book sellers, it was only a matter of time before I picked this book up. I plan on reading this one in the near future, I’m really intrigued by the synopsis and the style in which the story is told.

2017-05-27_12.51.50

Runemarks – by Joanne M. Harris

This was an impulse buy thanks to the buy one get one half price deal at Waterstones. Runemarks caught my eye with its striking cover, and the synopsis seems really interesting, with magic, runes and Norse gods. It seems quite different from the other fantasy books that I’ve read in the past few years, and I’m looking forward to the change.

2017-05-27_12.52.32

Queens of Geek – by Jen Wilde

This has been on my wishlist for a little while, from the reviews I have read, I am fully expecting to love this book. I ordered it while I was feeling sad, and when the package arrived, after an awful day, it really cheered me up. I can’t wait to dive into this, I have a feeling that it will be a relatively quick read.

IMG_20170527_133054_282

Godblind – by Anna Stephens

This was an extremely pleasant surprise. I won an early finished copy of this on a twitter giveaway run by Harper Voyager UK. It is a stunning book and I cannot wait to read it.

2017-05-27_12.59.27

Flame in the Mist – by Renée Ahdieh

This was the book included in the May Fairyloot box, as I had kind of guessed. It worked out well as this anticipated release would have been high on my to buy wishlist otherwise. I have already read this because I was lucky enough to get approved for an e-arc via Netgalley.

2017-05-21_10.58.05

All in all, I managed to read more books than I bought this month, which is how I want to keep things. That way my TBR shouldn’t be growing. Hopefully. I’ll be talking about all the books I read and my thoughts on them in my reading wrap up in the next few days. Until then, I’m always happy to chat in the comments.

Want to chat, places you can find me:

5 thoughts on “May Book Haul

Leave a Reply

