Top 10 Tuesday – Anticipated Releases for the rest of 2017

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly list prompt hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. The theme for this week is:

May 30: Top Ten Most Anticipated Books For The Second Half of 2017

I feel like there are so many books that I could list here, and I am bound to forget some/ run out of room. These are the titles that stand out to me, most of them are already on my goodreads TBR shelf to keep them on my mind. Also, if I was up to date on 2016 releases, there would probably be more sequels on this list, but alas.

1 – The Language of Thorns – by Leigh Bardugo

The Language of Thorns

Release Date: 26th September 2017 (US)

I’ve been excited for this book since the moment it was announced. I love Leigh Bardugo’s writing, and am so attached to the Grishaverse. I feel like at this point, I’m going to be excited about anything she writes. This is an illustrated collection of six short stories set in the Grishaverse. Also the cover is stunning, I have a feeling that this book will take my breath away.

2 – Shadowblack (Spellslinger #2) – by Sebastien de Castell

Shadowblack

Release Date: 5th October 2017 (UK)

I read Spellslinger recently and totally loved it,  I have a review here if you want to read why. I’m looking forward to seeing more of this world and finding out more about everything.

3 – Our Dark Duet – by V.E. Schwab

Our Dark Duet (UK)

Release Date: 13th June 2017 (UK & US)

This Savage Song was so gripping, I love the way Victoria Schwab writes morally grey, dark characters. This is a dark world, with a creative and powerful message illustrated by literal monsters born of human violence. Also I really appreciated that there was no romance in This Savage Song. I’m intrigued to see where this story goes.

4 – The Library of Fates – by Aditi Khorana

The Library of Fates

Release Date: 18th July 2017 (US)

This sounds amazing. It has been compared to The Star-touched Queen and The Wrath and the Dawn, which only makes me more excited for this. I’ll link the goodreads page here, because the synopsis is so amazing, and you’ll see why this book sounds wonderful.

5 – Wicked Like A Wildfire – by Lana Popovic

Wicked Like a Wildfire.jpg

Release Date: 15th August 2017

This just sounds really different. About two sisters with the magical ability to manipulate beauty, who are told they must keep their gifts secret. It seems mysterious, magical and a little dark, I’m really interested in reading this.

6 – Forest of a Thousand Lanterns – by Julie C. Dao

Forest of a thousand lanterns

Release Date: 10th October 2017

This sound dark. About a girl destined for greatness if she embraces the darkness within her. It’s an East Asian inspired fantasy with some dark sounding magic. I’m really looking forward to it, early reviews have been positive.

7 – Daughter of the Burning City – by Amanda Foody

Daughter of the Burning City

Release date: 7th September 2017

Set in a carnival, following a girl who creates realistic illusions that others can see, feel and touch. When one of her illusions is murdered, Sorina must track down the killer and discover how they killed a person who didn’t exist. This sounds so fantastically unique, dark and interesting, I can’t wait to step into this world.

8 – The City of Brass – by

The City of Brass

Release Date: 14th November 2017

Main character Nahri has never believed in magic, she is a talented con women, but when she accidentally summons a djinn warrior to her side during one of her cons, she’s forced to accept that the magical world is real. This sounds so good, I honestly cannot wait to get my hands on it.

9 – 27 Hours – by Tristina Wright

27 Hours.jpg

Release Date: 3rd October 2017

Set in one 27 hour night, this book sounds really interesting. There is a lot going on in the synopsis, and this only makes me more curious. Also this book has LGTBQIA+ representation, which I’m always looking to read more of. So many people are hyped for this release and early reviews have been really positive.

Those spaces filled very quickly, there are definitely other books that I am looking forward to. I feel like I am definitly missing something. If there is a book that I’ve not listed that you are really excited for/ that you think I should really, definitely let me know in the comments.

Want to chat, places you can find me:

5 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday – Anticipated Releases for the rest of 2017

Leave a Reply

