Top Ten Tuesday: Summer TBR

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly list prompt hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. The theme for this week is:

May 23: Summer Reads Freebie: In preparation for Memorial Day (which is always the unofficial summer kickoff for me), let’s rec some summer/beach reads: books to go in your beach bag, best books set in summer, books with summer-y covers, best beach reads for people who don’t enjoy contemporary/realistic reads, best beach reads for fans of X genre, etc. etc.

Now I sort of did that last week for Top 5 Wednesday (linked here if you are interested), so instead I am going to list the top ten books on my TBR for this summer, which is definitely easier now we are finally getting some summery weather where I live. I should say that for me, summer is a time to read big fantasy books, and maybe try something a little different. However, this year I rediscovered my enjoyment of contemporary books, a more traditional summer choice, so the chances are this will be quite a varied list.

1 – The Star-Touched Queen – by Roshani Chokshi

When I got this for my birthday last August I was over the moon, but for some mysterious reason, I still have not read it. It has been fairly high on my priorities for a while, but I feel like I’ve been saving it until I can fully immerse myself. Hopefully this summer will give me the perfect opportunity for that, I definitely want to have read this before my birthday comes around.

the-star-touched-queen

2 – Empress of a Thousand Skies – by Rhoda Belleza

I received this in February’s Fairyloot box, and was so excited to read it. Unfortunately there have been a number of books on my TBR which had to come first. But summer is a great time to dive into my reading, and this is a Sci-fi novel that I’m itching to get to.

empess-of-a-thousand-skies

3 – Queens of Geek – by Jen Wilde

Ooops, I broke my book buying ban again. This book is currently making its way over to me (I was sad, so I treated myself) and I can’t wait to dig in. All of the reviews that I’ve seen for this have been incredibly positive, I’m fairly sure that I will love this.

Queens of Geek

4 – Geekerella – by Ashley Poston

I’ve heard so many great things about this, so many people have told me to read it. Also it’s the summertime, contemporary books are typically very summery reads and I’ve been enjoying the contemporary genre so much lately. Honestly, I can’t wait to get to this one.

Geekerella

5 – Uprooted – by Naomi Novik

I’ve heard a lot of good things about this one, and it has been on my TBR for quite some time. I tend to be in the mood to read more fantasy books over the summer months so this summer I am hoping to finally pick it up. Maybe I will take it on holiday with me.

Uprooted

6 – Labyrinth Lost –  Zoraida Córdova

This needs to happen this summer! This has been near the top of my TBR ever since it came out. I’m excited about the concept, I love the idea of a bisexual main character, I’m almost positive that I will love it. I will be so disappointed in myself if I don’t get to this soon.

labyrinth-lost

7 – Sleeping Giants – by Sylvain Neuvel

Okay I just bought this the other day as a “you survived a stressful thing” present, and I am really looking forward to reading it. I’ve seen some really interesting reviews that have got my attention and also, the cover, it’s stunning! I know it has something to do with uncovering a giant metal hand, and honestly that’s all I want to know. With books like this, I prefer to go in knowing very little.

Sleeping Giants

8 – Clariel – by Garth Nix

I feel so guilty that I haven’t read this yet, especially since it has been on my self since it first came out in 2014. Not to mention the fact that it is a part of one of my all time favourite book series. I have so much shame over this one. Although I’m kind of upset, because I got spoiled for this a few months back. Still I started rereading the series the other summer, it seems right that I try to catch up this summer.

clariel

9 – The Young Elites – by Marie Lu

I might take this one on holiday with me in July. Now the trilogy is all out, it seems like the ideal time to get into this. Plus books two and three should be fairly easy to find if I decide to marathon the series while I’m away. I read Legend last summer, I enjoyed the writing, but I’m not really all that in to dystopian books anymore.

The Young Elites

10 – The Lies of Locke Lamora – by Scott Lynch

It’s time. I need to finally read this. After hearing so many good things about this book, I need to make this happen. I’m a little intimidated by it, but what better time that the summer to power through a fantasy book like this one.

The Lies of Locke Lamora

There you have it. This list could have been a lot longer, my TBR is getting a tiny be daunting. I feel like I’ve got quite a good mix here. I will be checking back on this post in a few months time to see if I managed to stick to my goals. I’m really hoping I manage to pull it off.

What’s on your Summer TBR? Have you got any thoughts on the books listed here? Please let me know in the comments, I would love to hear your thoughts.

Other places you can find me:

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Summer TBR

Leave a Reply

