Top 5 Wednesday: Summer Reads

This post is part of Top 5 Wednesday, created by Lainey , and now hosted by Sam from Thoughtsontomes, you can find the goodreads group, with all the weekly topics here.

May 17th: Summer Reads
–The weather is heating up (for half of the world), so what books remind you of summer and are your quintessential summer reads?

I wish the weather was heating up where I live, I still need an umbrella and coat whenever I leave the house. This time last year, it felt like summer, but to be honest it barely feels like spring at the moment. Nevertheless I am definitely ready for summer, and during the summer months, I tend to read more fantasy books. These are the books I think of when I think about summer reads.

1 – The Wrath and The Dawn – by Renee Ahdieh

I read ‘The Wrath and the Dawn’ on a really sunny day last summer. I remember quite clearly, because I was actually able to read outside for once. I loved this book so much that after I was finished I immediately ordered the sequel, and then read the novellas while I waited for the book to get to me. I find that I tend to enjoy more fantasy stories in the summer, and these books really fit my summer mood. The writing is so beautiful and descriptive, and I loved the main character, and the romance.

2 – Starflight – by Melissa Landers

Another book that I inhaled on a summer’s day, another favourite. I enjoyed this book so much! It gave me loads of Firefly vibes, a show (cancelled way too soon) that coincidentally I binge watched on a summers day. Starflight was so much fun, it had space travel, space pirates, and I loved all the characters. I’m hoping to get my hands on the sequel soon.

starflight

3 – We Were Liars – by E. Lockhart

We were liars is set in the summer on an island, while I read it in the spring, it is such a summery read. It’s a bit of a mystery, and it’s best to go into this knowing very little. At a little over 200 pages this isn’t a huge time commitment, ideal for reading in one sitting.

We were liars

4 – Sabriel – by Garth Nix

Did I mention I tend to read a lot of fantasy in the summer? While the book itself isn’t particularly summery, who doesn’t love to read about a good adventure/quest over the summer. This is the first book of one of my all time favourite fantasy series, and I cannot recommend it enough.

sabriel

 

5 – A Court of Thorns and Roses – by Sarah J Maas

I am trash for this series. I recognize that it is problematic, and I am noticing more and more flaws with Maas’ writing. Nevertheless, I still really enjoyed this series, despite its flaws, and since the books each came out in May, I read them in the summer months. I even took A Court of Mist and Fury on holiday with me last year where I reread it to combat an anxiety attack.

So those are the top five books that make my think of summer, and I have some great looking books line up for when summer finally gets here. What books make you think of summer? Do you have any recommendations for books that I should read this summer? As always, I’d love to hear in the comments.

Other places you can find me:

5 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Summer Reads

Leave a Reply

