Top 5 Wednesday – Favourite SFF Book Covers

This post is part of Top 5 Wednesday, created by Lainey , and now hosted by Sam from Thoughtsontomes, you can find the goodreads group, with all the weekly topics here.

May 3rd: Favorite SFF Cover Art *Booktube SFF Awards Crossover Topic*
— Show off some of your favorite science fiction and fantasy cover art!

They say never judge a book by its cover, and I try not to, but some books are just too stunning to not appreciate. If you follow my bookstagram (readingsanctuary) then you’ll already know that I am a sucker for a beautiful book cover, you may even be able to guess some of my entries for this list. It definitely appears like I have a type.

1 – The Long Way To A Small Angry Planet – by Becky Chambers

Starting of this weeks list with one of my all time favorite books. These covers a simple but effective, I love the gorgeous space imagery combined with the simple font of the title. The overall look fits really well with the amazing story within.

IMG_20170131_103956_078

2 – Strange the Dreamer – by Laini Taylor

There is nothing that I would change about this cover. The design is uncomplicated but striking and really fits the story. I adore the moth design, if I’m ever brave enough to get a tattoo, I’d want something like this. Also the blue is beautiful and ties really well with the story. I’m so glad I managed to get the first edition with the blue stained pages and the art inside, it makes the book just that much more special. I really hope that The Muse of Nightmares is just as beautiful.

IMG_20170416_182040_483

3 – The Star-Touched Queen – by Roshani Chokshi

The colours on this cover are so bold and striking, I love it so much! I can’t wait to read it, from what I’ve heard the story is just as wonderful as the cover. The cover to the second book ‘A Crown of Wishes’ is just as beautiful, I can’t wait to get my hands on it.

2017-04-05_19.19.55

4 – Labyrinth Lost – by Zoraida Córdova

I’ve yet to read this book, but I cannot gush enough over how amazing this cover is. To be honest, this picture doesn’t capture how amazing the colours are. Plus you can’t see the embossed skull under the dust jacket. I really hope the story is as awesome as this cover.

2016-10-30_10.06.38

5 – Empress of a Thousand Skies – by Rhoda Belleza

I love the space imagery in the back ground, the blend of colours and stars is something I really love. I also like how the ghostly image of the girl blends with the moon. This cover is stunning, and I am so happy to own it, now I just need to find the time to read it.

2017-03-13_22.14.00

Honorable mention

All Brandon Sanderson’s UK covers are just stunning. I love how clean and simple they are, and how they all match, with subtle differences in accent colouring differentiating between series. They look great all together on my shelf.

This was a really easy list to make, I know what I like when it comes to covers, I could have listed more, but these ones really stood out to me. What book covers do you want to permanently display because they are just that perfect? I’d love to here in the comments.

Other places you can find me:

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday – Favourite SFF Book Covers

Leave a Reply

