April 2017 Book Haul

April has been an incredibly eventful month, but at least I manages to curb my book buying somewhat. I’m trying to save as much money as possible at the moment, so my book buying should dramatically reduce for the time being. Well, I’m going to try really hard to stick to project 5. I know, I’ve said it plenty in the past, but this time I’m going to be more strict.

The Abyss Surrounds Us – By Emily Skrutskie

The Abyss Surrounds us

For Cassandra Leung, bossing around sea monsters is just the family business. She’s been a Reckoner trainer-in-training ever since she could walk, raising the genetically-engineered beasts to defend ships as they cross the pirate-infested NeoPacific. But when the pirate queen Santa Elena swoops in on Cas’s first solo mission and snatches her from the bloodstained decks, Cas’s dream of being a full-time trainer seems dead in the water.

There’s no time to mourn. Waiting for her on the pirate ship is an unhatched Reckoner pup. Santa Elena wants to take back the seas with a monster of her own, and she needs a proper trainer to do it. She orders Cas to raise the pup, make sure he imprints on her ship, and, when the time comes, teach him to fight for the pirates. If Cas fails, her blood will be the next to paint the sea.

But Cas has fought pirates her entire life. And she’s not about to stop.

This has been on my TBR wishlist for the longest time (since I first heard a synopsis a year ago) so when I saw this was really cheap on Amazon kindle (99p, can’t say no to that!), I jumped at the chance to pick it up.

Simon vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda – By Becky Albertalli

Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda.jpg

Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.

With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met.

After reading The Upside of Unrequited last month, and really enjoying it, I couldn’t resist picking this up when I saw it in the shop. I’ve actually already read it, and really enjoyed it. I found it really difficult to put down, and finished the last chunk of the book in one sitting.

The Hate U Give – By Angie Thomas

The Hate U Give

Sixteen-year-old Starr lives in two worlds: the poor neighbourhood where she was born and raised and her posh high school in the suburbs. The uneasy balance between them is shattered when Starr is the only witness to the fatal shooting of her unarmed best friend, Khalil, by a police officer. Now what Starr says could destroy her community. It could also get her killed.

This book, inspired by the incredibly important black lives matter movement, has been getting nothing but positive reviews and covers such a relevant and important topic. It was only released in the UK this month, and I picked it up at the earliest opportunity. I’ve been focusing on review books this month, but this will likely be making an appearance in my May TBR.

The Upside of Unrequited – By Becky Albertalli

the-upside-of-unrequited

Seventeen-year-old Molly Peskin-Suso knows all about unrequited love. No matter how many times her twin sister, Cassie, tells her to woman up, Molly can’t stomach the idea of rejection. So she’s careful. Fat girls always have to be careful.

Then a cute new girl enters Cassie’s orbit, and for the first time ever, Molly’s cynical twin is a lovesick mess. Meanwhile, Molly’s totally not dying of loneliness—except for the part where she is. Luckily, Cassie’s new girlfriend comes with a cute hipster-boy sidekick. If Molly can win him over, she’ll get her first kiss and she’ll get her twin back.

There’s only one problem: Molly’s coworker, Reid. He’s a chubby Tolkien superfan with a season pass to the Ren Faire, and there’s absolutely no way Molly could fall for him.

I have already read and reviewed this here, after being provided with and ARC via netgalley, but I loved it so much, that I bought my self a copy when it came out. I actually want to reread this now that I’ve read Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda, so I can fully appreciate the cameos in it.

Geekerella – By Ashley Poston

Geekerella

Part romance, part love letter to nerd culture, and all totally adorbs, Geekerella is a fairy tale for anyone who believes in the magic of fandom. Geek girl Elle Wittimer lives and breathes Starfield, the classic sci-fi series she grew up watching with her late father. So when she sees a cosplay contest for a new Starfield movie, she has to enter. The prize? An invitation to the ExcelsiCon Cosplay Ball, and a meet-and-greet with the actor slated to play Federation Prince Carmindor in the reboot. With savings from her gig at the Magic Pumpkin food truck (and her dad’s old costume), Elle’s determined to win…unless her stepsisters get there first.

Teen actor Darien Freeman used to live for cons—before he was famous. Now they’re nothing but autographs and awkward meet-and-greets. Playing Carmindor is all he’s ever wanted, but the Starfield fandom has written him off as just another dumb heartthrob. As ExcelsiCon draws near, Darien feels more and more like a fake—until he meets a girl who shows him otherwise.

It was the reviews that sold me on this book. I’ve been on a contemporary kick for the past few months, so I just couldn’t help myself when I saw it in Waterstones. It sounds so cute, and I’ve been so in the mood for it.

Given to the Sea – By Mindy McGinnis

Given to the Sea.jpg

Khosa was born to be fed to the sea, to prevent the kind of wave that once destroyed the Kingdom of Stille. She can’t be sacrificed until she produces an heir, but human touch repulses her…except for the touch of the Indiri.

Dara and Donil are the last of the Indiri, a native race with magic that’s seductive—a force of nature—but dwindling since the Pietra slaughtered their people.

Witt leads the Pietra, the fierce warriors who are now marching on the Kingdom of Stille. The stone shores of Witt’s kingdom harbor a secret threat, and to ensure the survival of his people, he’s prepared to conquer every speck of Stille’s soil.

Vincent stands to inherit the throne of Stille, but has no wife to share it with. When the beautiful and mysterious Khosa arrives without an heir, Vincent knows that his father will stop at nothing to make sure she fulfills her duty. Torn between protecting his kingdom and protecting the girl whose fate is tied to its very existence, Vincent’s loyalty is soon at odds with his heart.

While royals scheme, Pietrans march, and the Indiri struggle to survive, the rising sea calls for its Given, and Khosa is destined to answer.

This was the book included in the April Fairyloot box. I’ve never read anything written by Mindy McGinnis, but I’ve heard good things about her books. I have seen a couple of mixed reviews for this one, but I’m sure that I’ll get to it at some point, which I realize is something I say a lot.

So another month, another larger than intended book haul. I need help. But at least I didn’t buy more books than I managed to read this month, which is at least an improvement. Also, only four of these books are additions to my TBR, since I’ve already read two of them. Have you read and loved any of the books in this haul? Got any recommendations? I love to read your thoughts.

You can find me:

4 thoughts on “April 2017 Book Haul

  1. I am currently reading The Hate U Give and loving every single moment of it 🙂 I also purchased Geekerella, Simon vs the homo-sapiens agenda and the upside of unrequited this month (what a coikidink), I hope you enjoy them as much as I have 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

