Top 5 Wednesday – Favourite LGBTQ+ Reads

This post is part of Top 5 Wednesday, created by Lainey , and now hosted by Sam from Thoughtsontomes, you can find the goodreads group, with all the weekly topics here.

April 19th: Favorite LGBTQ+ Reads
–Talk about your favorite books that feature LGBTQ+ characters or are by LGBTQ+ authors.

This weeks topic is an important one and I will definitely be looking at everyone’s posts this week for books to add to my TBR. Sadly, I felt like I was pulling from a very small pool of books this week. Partially because frequently, LGBTQ+ characters are side characters, barely mentioned. For this list I will try to avoid including titles where the LGBTQ+ characters are better developed and more in the foreground of the story.

1 – Dreadnought – By April Daniels

dreadnought

I’ve talked about this book a lot on this blog since I reviewed it at the beginning of the year (you can find that review here). This fantastic ownvoices novel follows Danny, a transgender lesbian who transforms, gaining superpowers and her ideal body after witnessing the death of the superhero Dreadnought. Not only does she now have to navigate superhero politics, but also her sudden transformation outs her to everybody. This is a powerful book, which does not shy away from what many trans people experience, but there is some transphobia and abuse in this book, so if that’s a trigger for you, please be aware of it before picking this one up.

2 -The Upside of Unrequited – Becky Albertalli

the-upside-of-unrequited

While the main character in this book is straight, many of the people in her life are not. Her sister is a lesbian, she has two moms (one of whom identifies as bisexual), the romantic interest for the main characters sister identifies as pansexual. There are also other diverse elements in this book, which were included in a natural feeling way. The Upside of Unrequited really spoke to me, and I found it really difficult to put down. I have a full review for this book here.

3 – The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet – By Becky Chambers

small-angry-planet

This book follows a group of people on a small ship traveling through space over the course of about a year. It’s a very character driven story, and it features a wonderful lesbian relationship which develops over time. The two women come from very different worlds and their relationship is so loving and well-developed. It’s one of my favourite parts of the book, especially the parts where the talk about things together.

4 – History is all you left me – By Adam Silvera

History Is All You Left Me

This emotional book is about grief and loss. But it also Chronicles the relationship between the main character and his first love. This character has both gay and bisexual representation, with main character, Griffin identifying as gay, while is first love Theo identifies on the page as bisexual. This is actually given some discussion on the page which is great, since bisexual identities are so often erased.

 

I’m actually going to leave it there. I’ve looked through my read books, and nothing else stands out. A lot of representation is in the background, and it doesn’t feel right to include them here. I’m really sad that I can’t list more, but rest assured that my TBR is ever-growing with books to remedy this, especially because there are so many identities that haven’t been represented here, asexuality for example. If you have any recommendations for me, please leave them in the comments and I will be forever grateful.

Leave a Reply

