Top 10 Tuesday – Things that make me want to read a book

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly list hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This weeks theme is: April 18: Top Ten Things That Will Make Me Instantly Want To Read A Book – so yeah basically any topic or theme or ANYTHING (ie if X person recommends it) that will make you instantly want to pick up a book.

1 – Blogger Reviews/Buzz – if I see a few, similarly positive reviews from trusted bloggers/vloggers, telling me how good a book it and why, I am definitely more likely to break the “book buying ban”. Some reviews really know how to sell a book, and I’ve discovered so many great books as a result.

2 – Diverse Representation/ #ownvoices – this is something I’ve been trying to be more conscious of, representation matters, so if I hear that a book has good diverse representation, I am definitely more likely to check it out, especially if it’s an ownvoices book.

3 – Space Travel/Misfit Crew – I am a sucker for stories involving space travel. To be honest I’m still trying to fill the void left by the cancellation of Firefly. I really love stories about a small close-knit crew of misfits traveling through space for whatever reason.

4 – An Interesting/Unique Magic System – something I’ve not seen before, or something very distinctive with definite rules and boundaries. I’ve read enough fantasy books now, that if there’s a magic system, I want it to make sense and feel tangible. Brandon Sanderson is very good at this.

5 – Retellings – it’s been a trend for a while now, and while I’m not always a huge fan of the more “Disney Princess” retellings, I have really enjoyed retellings of myths and folk tales from around the world and am definitely enthusiastically on the look out for more.

6 – The Author – I think everyone has favourite authors, whose books they will automatically want to read/buy. I’m no different, and that list has grown hugely over the past couple of years.

7 – Heists/Cons – I love to see how an intricate plan comes together, these stories can be so gripping and exciting.

8 – Beautiful/Atmospheric Writing – I love immersing myself in beautiful atmospheric writing. If an authors writing style is compared to Laini Taylor, for example, you bet I’m going to be interested.

9 – The Cover – the saying goes “never judge a book by its cover”, but lets face it, we all do it. A stunning cover will definitely catch my eye, and lead to me finding out more about a book.

10 – My Mood – I am very much a mood reader. This influences not only what book I pick up next, but also the books I buy and the books I add to my TBR. It’s subject to change, for example, I am currently, for the first time in 4/5 years, really into YA contemporary novels. I still try to mix up the genres I’m reading so I don’t burn out on any particular genre, but my mood definitely has its impact.

So there we have it, I wasn’t sure I was going to make it to ten there for a while. Do you have any recommendations based on this list? What makes you instantly want to read a book? Let me know in the comments, I love to see your thoughts.

One thought on “Top 10 Tuesday – Things that make me want to read a book

Leave a Reply

