March 2017 – Book Haul

I’ve pretty much stopped even worrying about my supposed book buying ban, I just can’t seem to help myself and what I’m in the mood for keeps changing.

Umbral: Volume 1 – Out of the shadows

Umbral.jpg

This was a charity shop find and a real bargain. I couldn’t help myself. I’ve eased my guilt with the knowledge that the money I spent went to charity.

A-Force: Volume 2

A-Force vol 2

While I’ve not been keeping up with Marvel titles as much as I used to, I’m still looking forward to reading it. I really enjoyed reading some of the previous A-force comics, I like the idea of an all female superhero team.

Wing Jones – By Katherine Webber

Wing Jones

Having heard so many wonderful things about this book around the time of its release, this book was definitely on my radar, so when I saw it on the buy one get one half price table in Waterstones, I didn’t hesitate in picking it up. I’ve not read this one yet, but I’ve been on a bit of a contemporary kick just lately, so I’m hoping to get to this one soon.

History is all you left me – By Adam Silvera

History Is All You Left Me

I’ve all ready read this, I started it really soon after I bought it, because of all the wonderful things I’ve heard about it and I was definitely not disappointed. It follows a boy with OCD dealing with the death of his first love. It’s very raw and powerful, and I couldn’t put it down. I gave this book five stars.

Our own private universe

Our Own Private Universe

I’ve heard some good things about this book, and Robin Talley’s other books, so I’m feeling hopeful that I’ll enjoy this. It sounds like a good choice for a spring/summer read.

A Monster Calls – By Patrick Ness

A Monster Calls

Walker books UK kindly sent me this book after I applied to get on their blogger list, I didn’t make the cut (not surprised, I’m still really new), but they sent me this as a thank-you. I am really grateful, I did borrow A Monster Calls from the library a couple of years ago, and I enjoyed it, but I have been wanting to reread it, so now I have the chance.

The Song Rising – By Samantha Shannon

the-song-rising

I pre-ordered this stunning special edition last August, that’s how excited for this book. It finally came, a few weeks late, a few weeks of worry and messages because despite having pre-ordered more than six months before the release, stock was low. But now I have it, and it matches my copies of the other books in the series, thankfully, although I do plan on rereading from book one before getting to this.

The Sudden Appearance of Hope – By Claire North

The Sudden Appearance of Hope

This is a book about a woman who everyone forgets, people literally see her and then forget, no matter what she does. It’s a really intriguing idea and I’m looking forward to reading it.

The State of Grace – By Rachael Lucas

The State of Grace

This is a new ownvoices YA contemporary novel about a girl, Grace who has Aspergers, and I am so here for this. I’ve heard nothing but wonderful things about this book and I’m truly looking forward to picking this book up very soon.

Strange the Dreamer – By Laini Taylor

Strange the Dreamer

My most anticipated release of the year is finally in my hands, and I am so excited. This book is physically stunning, I’m almost scared to read it. Almost, I’ll probably try to avoid taking this book out and about with me to keep it as nice as possible.

That’s it, I think. They kind of mounted up quickly this month, but I am feeling very motivated and excited to read, so I’m hoping my reading pace will live up to it in April. Have you read any of these, are there any that I should make a priority? Let me know in the comments.

2 thoughts on “March 2017 – Book Haul

  1. Book buying bans never work for me, I always end up breaking the promise I made to myself! I love this haul, there’s tons of books that are on my TBR! I’m especially excited for Wing Jones and The State of Grace. And the cover of Strange the Dreamer is just gorgeous, I can’t wait to get my hands on it! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

