Top 5 Wednesday – Top SFF Books on my TBR

This post is part of Top 5 Wednesday, created by Lainey , and now hosted by Sam from Thoughtsontomes, you can find the goodreads group, with all the weekly topics here.

April 5th: Top SFF Books on Your TBR *Booktube SFF Awards Babble Crossover Topic!*
–Talk about the science fiction and fantasy books you want to read ASAP!

You could also call this top five SFF books that I really should have read by now. I have a long list of books that I know I’ll most likely love, that everyone talks about, that I just haven’t picked up yet. And I have no good reason why, some of them intimidate me a little, but from past experience I know that they can be some of the best books. I was so intimidated by the Mistborn series, now I consider it a favourite. So that’s what I’m hoping this list will become in the future, a list of new favourite books, that I should have picked up way sooner.

1 – Uprooted – By Naomi Novik

Uprooted

I’ve heard some wonderful things about this book, and I picked up the paperback pretty much as soon as it came out in the UK, and it’s been on my shelf waiting ever since. I’m really intrigued by what I’ve heard about the plot, and I’m hoping to read this in the summer.

2 – The Lies of  Locke Lamora – By Scott Lynch

The Lies of Locke Lamora

This book is widely praised, and it sounds right up my alley. The more I hear about the plot, the more I want to read it. I got a copy for my birthday last year, and my goal is to get to it before my next one (August).

3 – A Closed and Common Orbit – By Becky Chambers

a-closed-and-common-orbit

I pre-ordered this as soon as I heard it was coming out. I adored The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet, and was so excited for the companion/sequel. But I’ve been saving it for a time where I can really appreciate it, because I know this book will mean a lot to me.

4 – The Name of the Wind – By Patrick Rothfuss

The Name of the Wind

This has been on my shelf for well over a year now, but it’s kind of big and intimidating. I’ve heard tonnes of wonderful things about this series, the only thing that’s making me feel slightly less guilty is that the series is not yet finished. Even so, I really want to get to this one soon, hopefully over the summer.

5 – Avalon – By Mindee Arnett

Avalon

This is another book that has been sat on my self unread for a while. It’s been compared to firefly, and that was enough to attract my attention, and I’ve heard some really good things about it. I’m pretty sure that I’ll love it, but I tend to fall into a bit of a black hole when it comes to science fiction, I can never read just one.

So there we have it, my shame, the future favourites that I haven’t plucked up the courage to pick up yet. Worse still, I own copies of all of these books, so really I have no excuse whatsoever. I’m not the only one who has books like that on their shelves am I? I need to really get a move on and dedicate more time to books I’ve had on my shelves for a while.

Have you read any of these books, are they on your TBR, please feel welcome to chat with me either down in the comments or over on twitter (@reading_escape).

8 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday – Top SFF Books on my TBR

  1. I’ve been meaning to read The Lies of Locke Lamora too, and I just read The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet a few weeks ago and loved it so will definitely be picking up the sequel.
    I really enjoyed The Name of the Wind, but am waiting for a date on book three before I do a re-read!

    Like

  2. I have had the name of the wind in my TBR, for what feels like forever, but she is a big one. I am intimidate just thinking about it :3

    Like

  3. I’m rather new to blogging. I enjoy SF and just finished WOOL, which I was turned onto by another SF blogger. I do have a TBR list but it never occurred to me to blog about it. I’m surprised about the responses to your TBR’s.

    Like

Leave a Reply

