March 2017 Reading Wrap Up

March was an extremely busy month, especially when it came to work, so I had less time and energy for reading. Still, I don’t think I did too badly, I finished four books, all of which, I loved and I’m currently about 70% of the way through another. I am hoping I’ll be able to pick up the pace again next month.

Books I Finished

Frogkisser! –  By Garth Nix

frogkisser

I had a lot of fun with this book. I’ve been a fan of Garth Nix’s writing for at least a decade now, so I had high hopes for this book and was over the moon when I was approved for an early copy on Netgalley. I was not disappointed. This book twists fairytale conventions and elements,weaving them together to create a fun fantasy adventure. I have a full review posted here, if you’re interested in my more detailed thoughts.
Rating: 5/5 Stars 

History Is All You Left Me – By Adam Silvera

History Is All You Left Me

This book was incredibly tender and emotional. I don’t typically cry when reading, but this book had me tearing up on numerous occasions. I am planning on writing a review for this at some point, but I’m still processing everything. I actually came really close to running out of the blue sticky tabs I was using to mark passages and quotes which stood out to me.
Rating: 5/5 Stars

Defy the Stars – By Claudia Gray

defy-the-stars

I had already heard good things about Claudia Gray’s writing when I requested this on Netgalley and I was not disappointed. Defy the Stars is an accessible YA Sci-fi novel, with an action packed plot line and fantastic character development. I loved this book so much, if you want to see more of my thoughts, I have a review posted here.
Rating: 5/5 Stars.

The Upside of Unrequited – By Becky Albertalli

the-upside-of-unrequited

I read most of this in one day, I just couldn’t put it down. It was so easy to get into, and I quickly became fully invested in the story. There will be a review for this book going up soon, as soon as I feel like I’ve managed to do this amazing book justice.
Rating: 5/5 Stars

Currently Reading

The Hanging Tree – By Ben Aaronovitch

the-hanging-tree

This is the most recent installment in the Peter Grant/Rivers of London series, and this book has been sitting on my shelf patiently waiting since it was released last November. I have been really in the mood for this book, and it feels great to be back in this world. Like always I’m loving the writing and I can see that this book will likely be another five star read for me once I finish it.

April TBR

My March TBR was definitely over-ambitious, although I did get to all the books that I really wanted to get to for reviews and such, but I didn’t have time for anything else. For April, I’m going to keep my TBR a bit more realistic.

  • Strange the Dreamer – Laini Taylor (I want to get to this before I meet Laini Taylor on the 11th)
  • A Quite Kind of Thunder – Sara Barnard (This was on my TBR for March, but I ran out of time)
  • A Conjuring of Light – V.E. Schwab (This needs to happen, I’m really worrying about getting spoiled for how it ends)
  • The State of Grace – Rachael Lucas (I’ve been hearing great things & I’m on a contemporary kick at the moment)

So there we have it, I’m feeling really good about my reading at the moment and I’m really optimistic for April. Hopefully I’ll have a few more books to talk about in next months wrap up.. Have you read any of these books, are they on your TBR, please feel free to chat with me either down in the comments or over on twitter (@reading_escape).

3 thoughts on “March 2017 Reading Wrap Up

  1. All 5 star reviews! Yay!! I’ve never read a Garth Nix novel, and I feel so out of the loop! I need to read one of his books asap. I haven’t read History is all you left me yet, but I did buy the book. Adam Silvera’s books are hard to read because they’re so emotional – I need to be in the proper mood! I’m glad you loved it though!

    Like

Leave a Reply

