Top Ten Tuesday – Authors I Want To Meet

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly list hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This weeks theme is: March 28: Top Ten Authors I’m Dying To Meet / Ten Authors I Can’t Believe I’ve Met  (some other “meeting authors” type spin you want to do).

If I’m being honest, my answers for this list would have been quite different just a few months ago. While that is partially because I was lucky enough to meet a couple of my favourite authors a few months ago.  But it is also because recently I’ve been becoming more aware of how problematic certain authors are, and while I may have enjoyed their writing, I feel so disappointed by problematic behaviour and failure to address the issues when they are brought up. This is not to say that the authors on this list are not problematic, I’m still learning, and trying to be more aware of everything.

1 – V.E. Schwab

I adore Victoria Schwab’s writing, and she also comes across as a super lovely person, so meeting her would be a dream come true. The last time she came to the UK for events, I was on holiday and had no way of getting to any of the dates to meet her. I’m really hoping that I’ll get another chance soon, and that A Conjuring of Light doesn’t completely break my heart.

2 – Maggie Stiefvater

I’ve wanted to meet Maggie Stiefvater ever since I started reading The Raven Cycle, which quickly became one of my favourite series and I would love to meet the person who created the series which has given me so much joy.

dsc00453.jpg

3 – Marie Rutkoski

The winners trilogy was such an amazing read, the writing was beautiful and the story was so emotional and gripping. Few trilogies have stuck with me like this one has. I would love to have the opportunity to meet Marie Rutkoski and let her know just how gripped I was by her writing and story telling.

4 – Laini Taylor

Strange the Dreamer was one of my most anticipated releases of the year. From the moment I started reading Daughter of Smoke and Bone, I knew that Laini Taylor would become a ‘must buy’ author for me. I am in love with her writing style, I find it so inspiring. Laini Taylor won’t actually be on this list for much longer, because I have tickets to the event in Birmingham in April and I am so excited. Are any of you going to the same event?

5 – Renée Ahdieh

Renée Ahdieh has books that are as stunning on the outside as they are on the inside. She has this wonderfully beautiful writing style, which is so vivid and engaging. I found The Wrath and The Dawn duology so difficult to put down, and I am so incredibly excited for Flame in the Mist. I’m really hoping she will come to the UK in the near future, and that I will be able to meet her. Especially since she seems to be a genuinely lovely person and her books are now published by Hodder in the UK . I’m keeping my fingers crossed.

6 – Becky Chambers

Of course I would love to meet the author of one of my all time favourite books, The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet. Unfortunately I wasn’t able to make it to any of her tour dates when she was doing  the rounds for A Closed and Common Orbit, but hopefully I’ll have another chance in the near future, because I cannot state enough how much The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet means to me.

7 – Sabaa Tahir

An Ember in the Ashes was one of those books that just got into my head. I totally get why there was so much hype surrounding its release and A Torch Against the Night as just as gripping. I am so intrigued to see where this series goes next, and I am truly in awe of Sabaa Tahir’s writing style. I would love the opportunity to meet her some day.

8 – Susan Dennard

I fell in love with the world and characters of Truthwitch by Susan Dennard, I gushed about it in my review here. I am in awe of her world building, and greatly respect the effort she puts in to improving her writing and the representation in her books. She is very open about this online. I also really love the witchlands series, so much. I would love to meet her, hopefully future releases will bring a UK tour.

9 – Kristin Cashore

I first read Graceling years ago, and needless to say I loved it, at least in part because of how different it was from other books I’ve read. My recent read through of the Graceling Realms companion series brought me to really appropriate how strong and well developed her main characters are, and how well the three books fit together despite being told in different times and places.

10 – Samantha Shannon

I really enjoyed The Bone Season when I read it a couple of years back. I especially liked all the different types of clairvoyance. I definitely need to reread it before continuing on with the series, but I have not doubt in my mind that when I do continue on, I will really enjoy them. Samantha Shannon is an author I want to meet not just because I enjoy her writing, but also because she comes across are a really nice person online, and I love how open she is about her writing over twitter.

So there we have it. I feel like I need to say that this is not an exhaustive list of all the authors that I’d love to meet, there are so many. But hopefully I’ll be able to look back at this post in a couple of years time and say that I’ve been lucky enough to meet at least some of the people on this list. Unfortunately I kind of live in the middle of nowhere, so my opportunities are limited, due to how expensive train fares can be. Who do you really want to meet? Please let me know in the comments.

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Authors I Want To Meet

Leave a Reply

