February 2017 – Book Haul

February just flew by, and despite it being a short month, I still managed to accumulate quite a few books. While I haven’t done fantastically with my book buying ban, I have managed to not spend too much money on books this month, and a good portion of the books that I’m about to list are in a digital format, which helps with my current storage crisis.

Wytches: Volume 1 – By Scott Snyder, Jock, Matt Hollingsworth & Clem Robins

wytches

This was a great second-hand find, I actually found it in a hospital waiting room book sale while I was getting a blood test. It cost me 20p, it was a no brainer, especially since I had been interested in reading this for a while. I’ll definitely be picking this up when I’m in the mood for a creepy read.

Traitor to the Throne – By Alwyn Hamilton

traitor-to-the-throne

Okay this is where the book buying ban really got broken. After a year of waiting excitedly after finishing Rebel of the Sands, I needed this book. I might have to reread Rebel of the Sands before I get to this, but I need it on hand ready. Also I’m really excited by how much bigger this book is!

A Quiet Kind of Thunder – By Sara Barnard

a-quiet-kind-of-thunder

I’ve seen so many wonderful reviews about for this book that I just had to get myself a copy. It’s a relatively short book so I’m hoping to squeeze it in soon, especially since I am in the mood for more contemporary reads just lately.

Ash – By Melinda Lo

Ash.jpg

This has been on my TBR wish list for the longest time, and this month I picked up a second-hand copy on Amazon for a great price. All I know is that it’s a Cinderella retelling with a f/f romance, and honestly, that was enough for me to know that I need to read it.

The Ninth Rain – By Jen Williams

the-ninth-rain

I received a copy of this book from the publisher via Bookbridgr for review. I’m actually currently reading this, and while the size is a bit intimidating, I am enjoying it (especially the unique world).

All About Mia – By Lisa Williamson

All About Mia.jpg

This is the book which came with February’s Book Box Club box, the theme was Troublemakers. I have to admit, I hadn’t previously heard of this book, but I have been enjoying contemporary books more and more just lately.

Empress of a Thousand Skies – By Rhoda Belleza

empess-of-a-thousand-skies

This book came with February’s Fairyloot box and I am so excited to have it. The theme was ‘Emperors and Fugitives’ and I was hoping this would be the book of the month. It was one of my most anticipated releases of the year, hopefully I’ll have the time to get to it soon – when I get into a sci-fi book, I want to read nothing but sci-fi for at least a month. It’s kind on an all or nothing thing, I get a bit obsessed.

Wolf by Wolf – By Ryan Graudin

wolf-by-wolf

I’ve been seeing this series do the rounds for a while now, so when I saw it was on kindle sale, I had to get it. I’ve heard so many wonderful things about it, so I’m excited to read this for myself.

Playing with Fire – By Derek Landy (Skulduggery Pleasant Book 2)

skulduggery-2

I had so much fun rereading the first book last month, that I picked up the second book on kindle while it was on sale. These books are so funny and entertaining, I read the first few books years ago, and I’m hoping to finally get through this series this year.

 Lies We Tell Ourselves – By Robin Talley

lies-we-tell-ourselves

I’ve heard good things about this book, I believe it’s won awards, so when I saw it in the kindle sale, I had to pick it up.

Shiver – By Maggie Steifvater

shiver

I loved The Raven Cycle, and I’ve been meaning to pick up some of Maggie Stiefvaters books for a while now. This was another kindle sale buy, and while I’ve heard mixed things about this series, I’m interested enough about the premise of this book to pick it up. I don’t know when I’ll get around to reading this, but since it’s on my kindle app, I’ll always have it with me in case the mood takes me.

How Not to Disappear – By Clare Furniss

How not to disappear.jpg

I’ve seen a couple of really positive reviews for this, an it’s been on my wish list for a couple of months, so when it was cheap on the kindle store, I jumped at the opportunity to add it to my collection.

Orangeboy – By Patrice Lawrence

Orangeboy.jpg

This award-winning book has been getting talked about a lot at the moment, and I definitely want to read it. Especially after all the glowing reviews I’ve seen about for it. This is another addition to my kindle collection.

Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone – By J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone.jpg

I never actually owned my own copies of the Harry Potter books, when I was younger I read my Mum’s copies. At the end of February I went to the Harry Potter Studio Tour in London, and while I was there I picked up a copy of the first book. I’m well overdue a reread, and now I have no excuse not to.

So those are all the books I acquired over February, a lot more than I intended, but to be fair, a large chunk of them are kindle books that I got really cheaply. So not a big spend, and they aren’t taking up much physical space. An added bonus is that I carry them with me everywhere, so I can pick them up immediately if the mood strikes. I’ve been doing more and more of my reading digitally just lately and I’m getting through books much faster as a result.

Have you read any of these books and loved them, got any recommendations to me. As always, feel free to chat with me either in the comments or over on twitter (@reading_escape).

Leave a Reply

