February Reading Wrap Up

February was a hectic month for me, but despite everything that was going on, I feel like I managed to continue a good reading pace. Reading is one of the few things I enjoy and look forward to some days, and I’ve been reading some great books so far this year.

Close Your Eyes – By Nicci Cloke

close-your-eyes
This was a book that I received digitally via netgalley, really quick read, and the first book I finished this month. This is the story of a school shooting and the events that led to it. Harrowing and tragic, this book kept me gripped, I couldn’t put it down. I have a review for this HERE if you are interested in reading more, I gave it 4.5 Stars.

Wishbones – By Virginia Macgregor

wishbones

Another book that I read early with thanks to the publisher and netgalley, this book was emotional in a completely different way to Close Your Eyes. I actually finished this on the bus to work and struggled to hold back tears. Had I been at home alone, I would have had a good cry, this is such a beautiful, powerful, ultimately uplifting story. I will be posting a review for this closer to the release date, but this is definitely one to watch out for. I gave it 4 Stars.

The Backstagers: Act One

backstagers_001_main_press.jpg

The story follows Jory, who has just transferred to a new, all boys school and is not best pleased about the situation. When he goes to join the drama club he discovers that backstage is an entirely different world – literally. Another netgalley read, this wonderfully weird comic book is a fantastic series opener, and I can’t wait to read more from this series. I have posted a full review HERE if you want to find out more, this was a 5 star read for me.

Windwitch – By Susan Dennard

windwitch

I read and loved Truthwitch last month and I could barely wait to pick up Windwitch and find out what happened next. This book was a little slower than the first one, it focused more on developing the story and a lot of the characters were split up. I still really enjoyed in, but due to the pace it took me longer to get through. I gave Windwitch 4 Stars.

Skulduggery Pleasant – By Derek Landy

skulduggery

Magic, monsters and a ‘living’ skeleton (okay he’s dead, but he doesn’t act like it). This book is a crazy fun adventure, and one that I enjoyed just as much the second time around. This book was so funny and a joy to read, I gave it 5 Stars.

Ariadnis – By Josh Martin

ariadnis

I requested this on netgalley after seeing the buzz it was getting on twitter and I was not disappointed. This was such a unique book, with an amazing world and characters. I’m not going to say much about the story, because I don’t want to spoil anything, but I do have  a review HERE if you want to know more. I gave Ariadnis 4 Stars.

Currently Reading

These are the books that I started in February, but haven’t managed to finish yet. Finishing them will of course be part of my TBR for March.

The Ninth Rain – By Jen Williams

the-ninth-rain

I received this from the publisher via Bookbridgr for review, and I am really enjoying it. It’s an adult high fantasy novel, it did take me a little while to get into it, but now I’m used to the world and the writing. This is a big book, so I can’t always take it out on the go with me, but hopefully I’ll have more time in March for reading.

Frogkisser! – By Garth Nix

Frogkisser.jpg

I’ve said many times on here that I am a huge fan of Garth Nix, so when I saw Frogkisser! on Netgalley, of course I had to request it. I am absolutely loving it. This book is so much fun that I expect to finish it very soon, I’m currently about 60% through. I will definitely be posting a review for this book soon.

So that’s everything I read in February. How was your reading month. As always , feel free to chat with me either in the comments or over on twitter (@reading_escape).

5 thoughts on “February Reading Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

