Top 5 Wednesday – Books to get you out of a reading slump

This post is part of Top 5 Wednesday, created by Lainey , and now hosted by Sam from Thoughtsontomes, you can find the goodreads group, with all the weekly topics here.

February 22nd: Books to Get You Out of a Reading Slump
–Winter is a hard season for a lot of people and many of us are slumpy. Let’s talk about some books that are great for getting you out of a slump!

Reading slumps are so annoying and they tend to be easier to fall into than to climb out of. There are a few things I look for in a book when I’m trying to beat a reading slump. I will typically want a fairly quick read, something I can get absorbed into and fly through. It sometimes helps if it’s a genre that is a bit different from recent reads. I’ve thought about it a lot and included books that have already helped pull me out of reading slumps in the past. Needless to say I enjoyed all these books immensely and highly recommend them, if you haven’t already read them.

1 – Dreadnought – By April Daniels

dreadnought

I’ve made no secret of how much I loved this book, and I flew through it, reading late into the night. The first person point of view makes it very easy to get absorbed into the story. Any book that is this difficult to put down is a strong bet when it comes to beating the dreaded reading slump. Also it’s fairly short, something I find appealing when I want to end a reading slump. This is a fast paced superhero origin story with a trans, lesbian main character and I honestly cannot recommend it enough. If you want to know more, I have a full review you can read here.

2 – Rebel of the Sands – By Alwyn Hamilton

rebel-of-the-sands

This was such a quick read for me, I picked it up, having heard nothing about it, so I had no expectations. It was such a quick read for me, it has a lot going for it;  a bad ass, sharpshooter heroine, a good romance, a nail biting adventure and magic. What more could you ask for. I enjoyed it so much, and I found the direction the story took so interesting and surprising that I wanted to read it again immediately after I finished. An added bonus to this one is that the sequel just came out, so if it does end your reading slump, you’ll know what you want to read next.

3 – Close Your Eyes – By Nicci Cloke

close-your-eyes

Close Your Eyes is a book about a school shooting and so much more. This is actually a book I read very recently and it was so un-put-down-able that I actually finished it while I was walking home from the bus stop after work. I had a few pages left when the bus got to my stop and I literally couldn’t bear to wait the 3 minute walk home. Any book that is that intense and engaging is a pretty good bet against a slump. I have a full review here if you want to find out more about it.

4 – The Wrath and the Dawn – By Renee Ahdieh

I read this in the summer, and it felt so appropriate. I’d not been reading much at the time, but I read The Wrath & The Dawn pretty much in one sitting. Shahrzad was such a strong, determined and likable main character, the story was incredibly engaging and I even liked the romance aspect – which is kind of rare for me. It may have helped that I was unfamiliar with the original 1001 nights story, of which this is a retelling. But even so, the beautiful writing alone is enough of a reason the start this duology. By the way, the first thing I did after finishing The Wrath & The Dawn was ordering The Rose & The Dagger. I was so desperate to find out what happened next. No more reading slump.

5 – Highly Illogical Behaviour – By John Corey Whaley

highly-illogical-behaviour

I picked this up on kindle, sometimes I read more quickly on my kindle app, and since I always have my phone with me, it’s easier to read while I’m out and about. I found this book so easy to get into, and the characters were fun to get to know. Despite dealing with some serious issues such as mental health, this book also managed to be funny and uplifting. It also skillfully avoided the trope of a romance fixing a characters mental illness, which I am so grateful for. I couldn’t put this book down and it certainly put me in more of a mood to read. I you are interested in more of my thoughts about this book, then I have a full review here.

So there is my list, these books have all worked for me, but also, if you’re really struggling with picking up and getting into a book, or don’t know quite what you’re in the mood for, try a graphic novel. The smaller time commitment might take some of the pressure of for you. Another tip I have is maybe try an audio book, I haven’t gotten along with them in the past, but recently I listened to Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief and it really put me in the mood to read more.

Do you have any tips for stopping a reading slump in its tracks? Let me know in the comments, I’m always looking for new ideas. You can also find me on twitter (@reading_escape) if you want to chat more there.

One thought on “Top 5 Wednesday – Books to get you out of a reading slump

Leave a Reply

