Top 5 Wednesday – Favourite Graphic Novels/Comics

This post is part of Top 5 Wednesday, created by Lainey , and now hosted by Sam from Thoughtsontomes, you can find the goodreads group, with all the weekly topics here.

February 15th: Favorite Non-Written Novels
–This was a hard topic to name, but this is about all books that are not ‘written’ novels! So graphic novels, comics, manga, audiobooks, etc. Shed some light on books in other forms.

I’ve been a fan of comic books and graphic novels for years. My real obsession/collection started after I stumbled across an issue of Uncanny X-Men from 1987 in a market stall, everything took off from there. Over the past decade since, my tastes have grown and evolved, as has my collection. Because of this I decided to focus on graphic novels for this weeks list.

1- Wicked + The Divine – By Kieron Gillen, Jamie McKelvie & Matt Wilson

This is possibly my favourite graphic novel series of all time, I’ve loved it since I first picked it up a year and a half ago. “Every ninety years, twelve gods incarnate as humans. They are loved. They are hated. In two years, they are dead.” I love the idea of the gods being cultural influences and the modern gods being musical superstars. The story is gripping, full of twists and turns and the art is stunning. This is the only series where I buy the monthly issues because I can’t wait to read each installment and I don’t want to get spoiled while I wait for the trade paperback.

2- Monstress – By Marjorie Liu & Sana Takeda

Monstress vol 1.jpg

Description from Goodreads:

Set in an alternate matriarchal 1900’s Asia, in a richly imagined world of art deco-inflected steam punk, MONSTRESS tells the story of a teenage girl who is struggling to survive the trauma of war, and who shares a mysterious psychic link with a monster of tremendous power, a connection that will transform them both and make them the target of both human and otherworldly powers.

I picked up the first collected volume this summer with high expectations after the series got an amazing response from the very first issue. I was not disappointed. With a gripping story set in a magical world, and with breathtaking visuals (the art inside is just as beautiful as the art on the cover), this is not one to me missed.

3- Ms Marvel

I love the Ms Marvel series following Kamala Khan from the origin of her super powers, and her journey in becoming a hero. She is a relate-able fangirl, who juggles school, friends, family and protecting her city. It’s great to see a Pakistani American Muslim heroine given room to shine, and her identity is handled thoughtfully. With a nice mix of side characters, great art and entertaining writing, I look forward to each new installment.

4- Saga – By Brian K. Vaughan & Fiona Staples

This series is highly acclaimed, everyone seems to be talking about it, and with good reason. Following two soldiers from opposing sides of an ongoing intergalactic war, who fell in love, and have a baby only to be immediately thrust into danger. Both sides of the war want them dead, which leads them on the run across the galaxy. With its distinctive art style, and inventive world building it’s easy to get lost in this series. Not one for younger readers though – there is a lot of mature content.

5-Gotham Accademy – By Becky Cloonan, Brenden Fletcher & Karl Kerschl

I only picked up the first volume in November, but it became a fast favourite. I really enjoyed the combination of boarding school drama and creepy mystery elements with Batman lore. The characters are fun and engaging and the art style is beautiful and makes great use of colour.

Honorable Mention – The Backstagers – By James Tynion IV & Rian Sygh

backstagers_001_main_press.jpg

I recently read the first issue (via netgalley) and loved it. The best way to describe this is wonderfully weird, with a diverse cast of characters and something magical / creepy is going on backstage. I’ve not read any more yet, but this is a promising series and I can’t wait to see where it’s going. If you’re interested I have a review here.

So that’s my top five graphic novels, have you read any of these, do you have any recommendations based on the series listed here, please let me know, I’d love to chat either on my twitter (@reading_escape), or below in the comments.

 

5 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday – Favourite Graphic Novels/Comics

Leave a Reply

