Valentines Day Book Tag

I saw this tag done by Jessica @ The Awkward Book Blogger who kindly left an open invitation for anyone to do the tag, so I decided to go for it.

The creator of this tag is CC’s Books on BookTube.

1. Standalone book you love

Vassa in the Night by Sarah Porter, this book was so unique and magical, I have a review here if you’re interested. This was a tricky question, mostly because I haven’t read that many stand alone novels, and a few of my favourites have since got sequels, which to be honest is the opposite of a problem.

vassa-in-the-night

2. Dystopian Book You Love

Shades Children by Garth Nix, this was the first dystopian book I ever read, and it holds  special place in my heart. It left me so inspired, and I highly recommend it if you enjoy the genre. An added bonus, it’s a standalone.

shades-children

3. A Book that you love, but no one else talks about

Dreadnought by April Daniels, this is a new favourite for me, It only came out at the end of January, but I’ve only seen a few people talking about it, and this book deserves more attention. It’s #ownvoices, about a Trans Lesbian superhero, and it is fantastic. I’m going to leave my review linked here, so you can find out more if you’re interested.

dreadnought

4. Favourite Book Couple

Rosemary and Sissix from The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet by Becky Chambers. This book is wonderful and the Relationship between Rosemary and Sissex spoke to me above all other romances I’ve read. They are have such a different background and culture and the way they get to know and understand each other was one of my favourite aspects of this book.

small-angry-planet

5. Book that other people love, but you haven’t read yet

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern, okay please don’t hate me. I actually recently bought myself a copy (the beautiful vintage edition pictured below), and I have every intention of reading it, it’s just so hyped that I’m a little intimidated by it. I’m sure once I get over myself and pick it up, I’ll love it.

The Night Circus.jpg

6. A Book with Red on the Cover

Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge, I bought this at the end of last year, I’ve not read it yet but hopefully I’ll have time soon. How gorgeous is this cover? I love it.

cruel-beauty

7. A Book with Pink on the Cover

A Quiet Kind of Thunder, by Sara Barnard. I don’t think I own many books with pink on the cover, so this is a book I want to own. In fact I’ll probably be picking it up when I’ve made it to my next five books read (I’m trying to limit my book buying). But I’ve read so many great reviews for this book that I’m desperate to read it.

A Quiet kind of Thunder.jpg

8. You were given a box of chocolates. What fictional boyfriend/girlfriend would have given them to you.

To be honest I don’t know how to answer this question. But they are going about it in the right way, chocolate is the way to my heart.

9. You are single on Valentine’s Day. What book would you read? What TV show would you watch? What movie would you watch?

Book: I’m between books at the moment but I’m probably going to pick up Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones soon

TV Show: Supergirl –  I am loving this show and I’ve got a few episodes to catch up on. Also I love Alex’s story line at the moment.

Movie: I’m not a huge movie person, I can binge watch TV shows for days but can’t commit to one movie.

10. You are in the book store, all of a sudden you get shot with an arrow by Cupid. What new release will you love?

Caraval by Stephanie Garber, this book is so stunning, it’s love at first sight. I’ve heard so many wonderful things, so I’m sure I’ll love it. Another entry from the never ending TBR list.

caraval

So, there are my answers, I’m not going to tag anybody specifically, but if you want to do it, consider yourself tagged. Be sure to comment and let me know.

Hope you had a nice day.

 

4 thoughts on “Valentines Day Book Tag

Leave a Reply

