Top 5 Wednesday – Book Trends I’m Tired Of

This post is part of Top 5 Wednesday, created by Lainey , and now hosted by Sam from Thoughtsontomes, you can find the goodreads group, with all the weekly topics here.

February 8th: Book Trends You’re Tired Of
— What are some things you are tired of seeing that are trends in publishing? Maybe something that pops up on a lot of covers these days, or the popularity of certain tropes in a particular genre? Let it out!

  1. Cover changes/ Cover clones
    I like my books to match, I can just barely handle a mix of paperbacks and hardbacks if the cover designs are the same, but when the covers change completely mid-series, no. It’s so annoying. Even more annoying is when those cover changes are clones of existing popular series.
  2. Everyone is paired off in the end
    I’m talking about when all the characters are paired off, normally into male/female pairings. This happened in the Lunar Chronicles and it seemed to be happening in A Court of Mist and Fury. I love these books, but I just wish there was more LGBTQIA+ representation, these couples all tend to be straight and every main character has a match. This never feels realistic, finding love and being in a relationship isn’t the be all and end all, and is it really necessary? Also asexuality is a thing, and seriously needs more representation – I could rant about this for a while.
  3. Instalove
    It’s just not realistic. Being attracted to someone you just met is fine, but sudden undying love just grates on me. Few things can pull me out of a story faster. I much prefer to see a relationship develop over time and for characters to get to know each other first.
  4. Love Triangles
    They’ve been over done at this point, especially in YA. Love triangles can be done well, but more often, they tend to be predictable. Since so many of them follow the same path, I am less likely to pick up a book if I know it contains a love triangle, unless I hear something really good about it.
  5. Girl Hate
    To often are girls pitted against each other as rivals. It’s a damaging trope and am so over it. I wish we had more positive female friendships in YA, or even just female characters backing each other up.

Okay, I realise that there is a common theme with some of these points, it seems I have trouble with some romance tropes. That’s not to say I  don’t enjoy a good romance, I’m just tired of reading the same love story over and over again. What book trends are you tired of seeing, let me know in the comments.

12 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday – Book Trends I’m Tired Of

  1. I’ll have to agree with ALL of these, especially insta-love and love triangles. I’m just SO tired of those tropes. I wish there were a lot more slow-burn romances between two characters that reaches across a span of one or more books. I’d read that in a heartbeat!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

