January 2017 Book Haul

At the start of the new year I decided I was going to restrict my book buying with the rule that I had to read five books before I could buy any more. A few days into the month I decided that really cheap ebooks shouldn’t count, part of the book buying ban is related to a lack of storage space in my current living situation, although I am also hoping to save some money. January is almost over and my first book buying took place over the weekend, which is quite the success for me. I read 5 books, 1 audio book, 1 graphic novel and 2 short storys, so I had earned at least one book, I bought three, but it could have been worse. If anyone has any tips about resisting the temptation, please let me know in the comments.

Sorry about the waffle, I’m trying to hold myself accountable, on with the book haul.

Skulduggery Pleasant – By Derek Landy

skulduggery

This was on sale for a really good price on kindle at the beginning of the month and I’ve been wanting to reread it for quite some time now. I first read Skulduggery Pleasant years ago, and I remember really enjoying it, but as more books came out, I fell behind with the series. This was when I decided that ebooks were probably exempt from the book buying ban. I don’t know when I’ll get to this, but I’m glad that I have the option.

The Oneย Memory of Flora Banks – By Emily Barr

the-one-memory-of-flora-banks

I’ve seen this book around, and the synopsis is intriguing. I picked this up on the kindle store for a low price. I’ve been in the mood to read more contemporary ya recently and this has been getting some good buzz. I’m looking forward to picking this up soon.

All the Birds in the Sky – By Charlie Jane Anders

all-the-birds-in-the-sky

Another kindle sale purchase, this book ย mixes science fiction and fantasy elements. This book was unlike anything I’ve read before. The first potion follows the two main characters as children, then the narrative skips forward years to when the reunite as adults. Overall this was an enjoyable and unpredictable read, I gave it 4 Stars.

Wintersong – By S. Jae-Jones

wintersong

This intrigued me since I found out it was inspired by the Goblin Market by Christina Rossetti. I read the poem when I was a teenager and it has stuck with me ever since. So when I was this in the book store, I couldn’t resist picking it up. I plan on getting to this one pretty soon.

The Bands of Mourning – By Brandon Sanderson

the-bands-of-mourning

I’ve made no secret of the fact that I love the Mistborn series, and I finished Shadows of Self at the beginning of the year. Since then I’ve been wanting to pick up this (the next book), which was only recently released in paperback. I don’t know when I’ll get to this, part of me wants to wait a while so I don’t have to wait so long for the next book.

Windwitch – By Susan Dennard

windwitch

I fully intended on waiting a while (like for the paperback to come out) before picking this up to shorten the wait for the next book in the series. However, I couldn’t help myself when I saw this in Waterstones, I loved Truthwitch so much that I need to know what happens next. I’m not risking spoilers on this on, I’ve already started reading!

Ink – By Alice Broadway

ink

This beautiful book came in January’s Book Box Club box, and I am really looking forward to reading it. It’s set in a place where a person’s life story is inked on their skin. I don’t want to know much more going in to this one, but I am curious to see where the story goes and how the world works.

Caraval – By Stephanie Garber

caraval

I was so happy that this was the book in January’s Fairly loot box (I had a feeling it would be). I’ve been hearing so many amazing things about this that it was easily one of my most anticipated releases for January. I’m looking forward to experiencing for myself also how beautiful is this book. Seriouslyย Hodder & Stoughton have been putting out some breathtakingly attractive books just lately!

How to think like Sherlock – By Daniel Smith

how-to-think-like-sherlock

This book was also included in January’s Fairyloot box, and it couldn’t be more appropriate, because I recently started watching Elementary and became totally obsessed. Plus, if this book can do anything to improve my memory, then that is a huge bonus!

So there we have it, not too shabby considering I’m trying to cut back on buying books. Although, I have been reading a lot more since the new year so that’s got to count for something right? Have you read any of these books? Let me know what you thought in the comments.

 

3 thoughts on “January 2017 Book Haul

Leave a Reply

