Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Underrated Books

This post is part of Top 5 Wednesday, created by Lainey , and now hosted by Sam from Thoughtsontomes, you can find the goodreads group, with all the weekly topics here.
January 25th: Favorite Underrated Books
–Give some love to those books that aren’t as widely talked about. Those hidden gems. Those books that maybe used to be popular but people have forgotten about and they still deserve some love.
I love this theme, it’s a great excuse to talk about some of my favourite books. These are a selection of books I feel don’t necessarily get a lot of love online.
  1. Starflight – By Melissa Landers
    starflight
    This book doesn’t get talked about a lot but I loved it. This book has a hate to respect to love romance and is set mostly on a space ship. There are even space pirates! It gave me Firefly vibes, and I need more books like this. It was such a fun read and I am very excited for the sequel coming out in February.
  2. Dark Days Club – By Alison Goodman
    The Dark Days Club.jpg
    This is a little different from what I normally read, but I really enjoyed it. The combination of the fantasy/supernatural elements and the historical setting (I’ve not read much set in the Regency era) was really compelling. The sequel is just coming out now and I will definitely be picking it up at some point.
  3. Shades Children – By Garth Nix
    shades-children
    This lesser known dystopian standalone novel by Garth Nix was one of my favourites in high school. Following a group of teens with special abilities as they run and hide from evil overlords who have decreed that no child shall live past their fourteenth birthday. I read this years before the dystopian trend took off, and it left a huge impression on me. I reread it recently and fell in love with this book all over again.
  4. Vassa in the Night – By Sarah Porter
    vassa-in-the-night
    I really enjoyed this bizarre modern-day retelling of Vasilisa the beautiful when I read it last year. The full of atmospheric imagery, beautiful writing and unexpected twists and turns, this book left a lasting impression on me. I’ve posted a full review of this book here.
  5. These Broken Stars (The Starbound Trilogy) – By Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner
    these-broken-stars
    This book follows Lilac and Tarver, who survive the wreck of the luxury spaceliner Icarus and find themselves stranded on an unknown planet. The first book in a companion trilogy, this book combines elements of science fiction, survival and a slow burn grudge to love romance, with some shock twists thrown in for good measure.

So, those are five of the books that I have loved, that don’t get a lot of recognition or buzz. What books do you feel go underappreciated? Please feel welcome to leave you’re recommendations in the comments.

5 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Underrated Books

Leave a Reply

