Top Ten Favourite Books Of 2016

Okay, so I was going to post this a few weeks ago for Top Ten Tuesday, a weekly list prompt hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. The theme was Top Ten Best Books Of 2016 – (you choose — best books overall of what you read regardless of pub date, of a particular genre, 2016 debuts, 2016 releases, etc). Now I was reluctant to post my top books of the year before the year was over, so I waited just to be sure.

Also this list is not completely in order, because it started to stress me out so it’s sort of in order but I tried not to think too much into it…

  1. Crooked Kingdom – By Leigh Bardugo
    This follow-up to ‘Six of Crows’ was a highly anticipated release for me this year and I had such a great time buddy reading it with Nisha from Bookish At Heart. This book amazingly managed to give me all I needed in terms of both the plot resolution and the character developments and interactions. With such a huge cast I thought for sure I’d be left wanting, and while I am definitely not ready to leave this world and these characters, the conclusion was incredibly satisfying. I’m still trying to put all my feelings into words for a review, but one will be coming eventually. Needless to say, I gave this book 5 Stars.
    crooked-kingdom
  2. The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet – By Becky Chambers
    I have so much love for this book, this is not the first time that I have posted about it. It’s a story about a mixed species crew traveling long distance through space – but the focus is more on the ensemble cast of characters and the mixing of different cultures than the destination for the most part. But it’s the characters and the different alien cultures that really bring this book to life. I cannot recommend this book enough, if you’re even a little bit curious, pick it up –  I gave this book 5 Stars.
    small-angry-planet
  3. The Raven Cycle – By Maggie Stiefvater
    This may be cheating but I really don’t care. I read all four books of the Raven Cycle this year and I now consider them all to be favourites. I was enchanted by the world and all the characters. I loved the interactions and how quirky and different this series was from both other books and what I expected. I gave every book in this series 5 stars on goodreads.
    the-raven-boys
  4. The Winners Trilogy – by Marie Rutkoski
    I’m still cheating, I read this entire trilogy this year and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I loved that Kestrel was a skilled tactician, and that her strength came from that, it was interesting to see how her plans came together. I actually enjoyed the romance in this series, which I wasn’t expecting, and the world building was really strong. The story kept me guessing and I really liked how the books were paced.
    the-winners-curse
  5. Gemina – By Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff 
    I was blown away by Illuminae last year and Gemina definitely lived up to its predecessor. The addition of illustrations by Marie Lu made the book even more attractive and kept the format fresh. This book managed to keep the surprises coming and escalated the momentum. This series is heading towards an epic finale next year. My review can be found here, I gave this book 5 stars.
    gemina
  6. The Rivers of London (Peter Grant) Series – By Ben Aaronovitch
    This series blends supernatural elements with crime/policing set in an incredibly realistic modern-day London. I’ve read all but the latest book and I have thoroughly enjoyed each installment. Each book follows its own mystery with a wider plot arc running through. There is a vast array of interesting characters and the writing is both humorous and matter of fact. I am so glad that I finally picked up this series this year.
    rivers-of-london
  7. An Ember in the Ashes – By Sabaa Tahir
    This is a book that totally live up to the hype for me. I was instantly gripped by the tension and high stakes of this book. The characters stuck with me long after I finished reading. The world I saw in this book was interesting and I am looking forward to discovering more of it in future books. Also there are some fantastic quotes in this book, I tabbed some but I want to reread it at some point to catch the rest. I gave this book 5 Stars.
    an-ember-in-the-ashes
  8. Rebel of the Sands – By Alwyn Hamilton
    This cover buy really paid off, I inhale read this book (almost missed the dentist calling me because I got absorbed reading it in the waiting room), and once I was finished, I wanted to go right back to the beginning to look for foreshadowing and experience the adventure again. This book combined elements I hadn’t seen before with likeable characters and a fast paced adventure – I loved every page of it! 5 Stars.
    rebel-of-the-sands
  9. The Wrath and the Dawn Duology – By  Renée Ahdieh
    The first book transported me, I devoured it, I was in awe of the wonderful descriptive language throughout and the mystery elements kept me reading all day. I ordered the second book before I even finished the first. I read the novellas while I was waiting for the second book to be delivered and started the second book as soon as I could. This duology was the perfect summer read and I honestly cannot wait to read whatever Renée Ahdieh writes next!
    the-wrath-and-the-dawn
  10. A Gathering of Shadows – By V.E. Schwab
    This follow-up to ‘A Darker Shade of Magic’ was amazing. I loved where it took the characters and I really enjoyed the development of the magic system. This book added piracy elements into the mix which only made me like it more. All in all this series keeps getting better and better and I can’t wait for the final installment! I gave this book 5 Stars.
    A gathering of Shadows.jpg

I would also like to mention that I finished the original Mistborn trilogy as well as starting the follow-up series and I was blown away by them. The level of world building and planing astounds me. I cannot recommend this series enough, it’s truly incredible.

So those were the highlights of my reading year, I read so many good books last year that it was quite difficult to narrow this list down. I hope that I’m as lucky with my reading in 2017!

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Favourite Books Of 2016

  1. Maggie Stiefvater’s first impression on me wasn’t really a good one, I read Shiver and didn’t think it was good at all. The Raven Cycle though, has been getting a lot of great reviews, so I’m hoping I’ll get to read the series soon!

    Like

  2. Great list, I love The Raven Cycle so much, currently reading A Darker Shade of Magic and have the 2nd one lined up, just picked up illuminae, Gemina, 6 of Crows and Crooked Kingdom 😄

    Like

Leave a Reply

