Top 10 Tuesday: 2016 releases I meant to read last year

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly list hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This weeks theme is Top Ten 2016 releases I meant to read last year but didn’t get to yet. This topic is highly relevant since I got so many books last year that I still haven’t got to reading yet. Please also read this list as a TBR for the near future as I want to get to these books as soon as possible and I am making a special effort to read the books I already own this year

  1. Truthwitch – By Susan Dennard
    This book came out in early 2016 and from the very beginning I know it was something I was interested in reading, witches and a strong female friendship, that’s just my scene. But for some reason I never got around to picking it up. That changed recently thanks to Tor UK, who sent me an early copy of the UK paperback to review. I’ve actually already started it and I have to say I’m really enjoying it, definitely a great start to my reading year.
    truthwitch
  2. The Hanging Tree – By Ben Aaronovitch 
    While I only started the Peter Grant/Rivers of London series last year, by July I was caught up to the released books and desperate to pick up the next book. I was so looking forward to this book, I was fortunate enough to get my copy a few days early at a signing at Waterstones, where I got to meet Ben Aaronovitch. I wanted to start the book there and then, but I was already reading something else, and it still sits on my shelf unread. I must admit, I’m a little conflicted about reading this too soon and then having to wait even longer in between books.
    the-hanging-tree
  3. A Torch Against the Night – By Sabaa Tahir
    Another book that I simply couldn’t wait to get my hands on. I read ‘An Ember in the Ashes’ early last year and loved it. I was so absorbed by the story, and the ending left me wanting  more. Hopefully I’ll read this soon, but maybe I should reread ‘An Ember in the Ashes’ first. The only trouble is, the third book is scheduled for a 2018 release, so maybe I’ll give it a few months so I have less of a wait.
    a torch against the night.jpg
  4. A Closed and Common Orbit – By Becky Chambers
    ‘The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet’ was one of my favourite reads of last year, as soon as I found out that there was a spin-off book coming out, I pre-ordered it. I know that I’ll love it, but I can’t just read one sci-fi, I tend to go on a spree. I’m saving this for then.
    A closed and common orbit.jpg
  5. Goldenhand – By Garth Nix
    The Old Kingdom Series is an old favourite of mine, I read the original trilogy while I was in high school and it means so much to me. The only reason that I haven’t read this yet is that I haven’t read Clariel (the prequel that came out before Goldenhand) yet. My excuse there is that I wanted to reread all the books first, which I have now done. I have no more excuses, I need to get my act together!
    goldenhand.jpg
  6. The Star-touched Queen – By Roshani Chokshi
    I received this for my birthday, in August and I was over the moon, I’d wanted to read this book from the moment I heard about it. That cover is gorgeous and I hear that this book has Hades and Persephone elements, which I am so here for. I have no good reason as to why I haven’t read this yet.
    The Star-touched Queen.jpg
  7. Labyrinth Lost – by Zoraida Córdova
    This book received so much praise when it was first released, both for its story and its diverse representation. I’m really looking forward to picking this one up, I’m sure that I’ll enjoy it.
    Labyrinth Lost.jpg
  8. And I Darken – Kiersten White
    A dark, gender swapped Vlad the Impaler retelling, this grabbed my attention at first mention. I picked it up while I was on holiday last summer but I still haven’t got around to picking it up.
    And I darken.jpg
  9. Passenger – By Alexandra Bracken
    This was really hyped at the beginning of the year, the time travel plot seemed interesting, but then the hype faded and this slipped off my radar. But now the second book is coming out and I am hoping to pick this up soon. I’m hoping it’s as beautiful on the inside as it is on the outside.
    Passenger.jpg
  10. Nemesis – By Anna Banks
    I received this in a fairyloot box last year, and I was happy to have it – it was a release that I had been aware of and interested in for a while. Unfortunately I still haven’t picked it up  yet, but I’m looking to change that soon.
    nemesisSo these are my top ten 2016 releases that I own but haven’t read yet. I’m a little ashamed of how out of control my book buying got last year, but I’m making a big effort to read the books that I already own this year. Are there any books on this list that I should make a top priority? Please let me know in the comments.
One thought on “Top 10 Tuesday: 2016 releases I meant to read last year

  1. I definitely recommend reading Labyrinth Lost and Nemesis! I read them last year and really enjoyed both of them. The Star-Touched Queen is one I should’ve included on my list this week, but didn’t 😛 I hope you’re able to get to these soon and that you enjoy them all 🙂

    Here’s my TTT if you’re interested and haven’t seen it yet: https://kourtnireads.wordpress.com/2017/01/10/2016-releases-i-didnt-get-to-but-totally-plan-to-read/

    Like

Leave a Reply

