December Book Haul

I went in to December planing on buying no books, but kindle sales soon put an end to that. Then Christmas happened and then I hit the sales. For the foreseeable future I’ll be trying the read five books before buying more rule in an attempt to motivate myself to read more of the books I already own.

Purchased by me:

Dark Matter – By Blake Crouch
I had my eye on this for a while after hearing some interesting reviews, so when I saw it was on a limited time sale for £1.69, I took advantage of that bargain price.
Dark Matter.jpg

Highly Illogical Behaviour – By John Corey Whaley
I saw this for £0.99 on kindle and was intrigued, I remembered the buzz that surrounded this books release so I decided to check it out for myself. You can find my review for this book here.
highly-illogical-behaviour

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe – By Benjamin Alire Saenz
After hearing so many wonderful things about this book, how could I pass up the opportunity to read it when it was on sale in the kindle store. I’m really looking forward to reading this one soon.
Aristotle & Dante discover the secrets of the universe.jpg

Our Chemical Hearts – By Krystal Sutherland
Another Kindle bargain, I read the free chapter sampler and then just kept on reading. I have already finished this book – I think I’m on a contemporary kick – and I have talked about this a little bit in my December Wrap up and I will eventually post a review.
our-chemical-hearts

Cruel Beauty – By Rosamund Hodge
This book has been cropping up in my recommendations for years, so when I saw it on display while book shopping, I decided to pick it up. It’s supposedly a dark retelling of beauty and the beast and I’m curious to see how it does, I know some people love it while other hate it.
cruel-beauty

Pantomime – By Laura Lam
This book seems so unique and it’s been blurbed by so many amazing authors, I just could not resist picking this one up. I’m excited to get to it.
pantomime

Radiance – By Catherynne M. Valente
I’m making an effort to read across more genres next year, and I always feel like I need more science fiction books in my life. Also just look at this cover, how could I not pick this up?
Radiance.jpg

Received in subscription boxes:

Flashfall – Jenny Moyer
This is the book that came in Decembers science fiction themed Fairyloot box, and while I had not previously heard much about this book, I am definitely looking forward to picking it up.
Flashfall.jpg

Bone Gap – By Laura Ruby
This was the book came beautifully wrapped in Decembers Book Box Club box, the cover is stunning and I love magical realism. I’m really looking forward to reading this in the near future.

Bone Gap.jpg

The Memory Book by Lara Avery
My December Book Box Club box also contained an advanced reader copy of The Memory Book which was an exciting bonus. I don’t know much about it, but I’m looking forward to diving in.

Gifts:

Iron Cast – By Destiny Soria
I’ve heard so many good things about this book so I was thrilled when I unwrapped this on Christmas morning (my sister is amazing). I’m really looking forward to diving in, and I must say, this book is stunning as well (it will definitely be getting a lot of love over on my instagram in the near future).
Iron Cast.jpg

Fantastic Beasts and where to find them: The Original Screenplay – By J.K. Rowling
I adored the movie so much I saw it for a second time, hopefully this will keep me going until the DVD release. This book is stunning, I am so happy to have it.
Fantastic Beasts.jpg

Arcanum Unbounded – By Brandon Sanderson
I was thrilled to unwrap this stunning book and I am greatly looking forward to delving further into the Cosmere. This collection features novellas, illustrations and stunning diagrams for all the systems of the Cosmere – this book is a real treat.
arcanum-unbounded

The Archived – By Victoria Schwab
I’ve read several books by Victoria Schwab (mostly ones published as V.E.Schwab), and enjoyed every one so far, so I was really happy to unwrap this. This has a really interesting and unique concept – I’m sure I’ll love it!
The Archived.jpg

From Tor UK:

Truthwitch – By Susan Dennard
The UK branch of Tor asked if anyone would be interested in reviewing the new paperback edition of Truthwitch, I put myself out there not thinking I would be chosen. Imagine my surprise and excitement when I got a message saying that a copy was in the post. I am so grateful and excited for this opportunity – Truthwitch has been on my radar since it first came out last year, it’s right up my alley. Expect a review in the next couple of weeks.
Truthwitch.jpg

So this is my embarrassingly large book haul (for saying I wasn’t going to buy new books this month) – hopefully things will be a little different in the new year. I hope 2017 is treating everyone well.

5 thoughts on “December Book Haul

Leave a Reply

