Top 5 Wednesday -2017 Goals

This post is part of Top 5 Wednesday, created by Lainey , and now hosted by Sam from Thoughtsontomes, you can find the goodreads group, with all the weekly topics here.

January 4th: 2017 Goals
–These do not need to be reading goals specifically, they can be any goals you want to talk about. Reading goals, blog/channel/instagram goals, personal goals…anything!

I’m not really a big new years resolution person, for me dramatic sudden changes just don’t work, but I do like to set goals for myself and slowly work towards them. Having said that I have set goals for 2017 -these are things I want to achieve or work towards over the course of the year.

  1. Buy a house/move out
    This is a big one for me, I work full-time and have been saving for a few years now while living with my parents. I’ve now reached a point where I’ve saved enough for a small deposit for a small house or flat. It’s scary (house prices are steep in my area – but there is a property I have my eye on) but it’s time, I need my own space. Because of this I am making an effort to curb my spending – mainly I’m trying to buy fewer books. At the moment I’m playing with the read 5 books before you buy with the exception of the odd 99p kindle book. Let my know if you have any advice for sticking to such things – I’m already planning what I’ll buy when I make it to five books read.
  2. Write more reviews
    I’m still not hugely confident with my writing when it comes to reviews, but I’m working on it and I’ve read some books that I’m really looking forward to talking about. I write notes, tab pages, highlight quotes (on kindle) as I read so all the material is there, it’s just putting it all together that needs work. Keep an eye out, and if you have any constructive advise, it’s extremely welcome in the comments!
  3. Use a bullet journal & stick to it!
    I’ve tried bullet journaling before, I find lists and bullet points extremely helpful for sorting out my ideas, but I never stick with it. This year I want to use my bullet journal to plan what I post when, keep track of my reading and just be more organised. The only issue is that I am a perfectionist and it takes me so long to set things up how I want.
    2017-01-04_22.05.08.jpg
  4. Stick to a posting schedule
    I have to admit, I rarely manage to finish posts in advance, I start things , then I have mountains of doubt and leave them for a few days. There are so many posts in my drafts right now, both here on my blog and on my bookstagram. I want to be more organised and get better at finishing posts in advance.
  5. Read more diversely
    This is something that I have been thinking about more and more over the last couple of months. There have been so many wonderful, eloquent discussions on this topic recently and I’m definitely going to be more conscious of the books I pick up this year. Thanks to these discussions I’ve heard about so many fantastic sounding books that I’m sure will make my book buying ban even more difficult. While I’m not taking part in any particular reading challenges, I am going to make an effort to seek out books with diverse elements, especially #ownvoices books.

So here are five of my goals for 2017, I do have a few others, such as taking care of my mental health and being more healthy. I also set my goodreads goal to 60 books for the year (this is the same goal as last year and it worked well for me), if you want to see how that’s going feel free to add me here. Also, I’m most active on instagram, @readingsanctuary, I’d love it if you said hello over there.

3 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday -2017 Goals

  1. These are some great goals! Congrats on saving enough money to get your own space. I hope all goes well with the search and move. A bullet journal sounds like a great way to stay organized. Bullet points always seem to help. I tried using an agenda once, but I was too busy to keep track of my blogging, and I’m a perfectionist, too, so it took me forever to figure out what I wanted to do :/ I hope the journal works out well for you! And it’s great to see so many readers setting a goal to diversify their reading list. It’s definitely one of my goals as well. Hope it all works out for you! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Bullet journaling is no joke, man. I tried it in the past and it was a lot of fun, but man was it a lot of work. My hat’s off to you, dearie! That takes some serious dedication, but I remember it fondly as a time to decompress and get creative with daily tasks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

