December Reading Wrap Up

My anxiety was really bad this month, a lot of my normal coping techniques weren’t working so I threw my self into reading and ended up reading several books at the same time. But then things got busy over the Christmas holidays and I found myself struggling to find time to read. I finally met my goodreads goal of 60 books on the 31st December – cutting it kind of close, I know!

Highly Illogical Behaviour – By John Corey Whaley
I picked this up on a whim when I saw it was cheap on the kindle store, I’d seen some good reviews and I was looking for something different. I loved this book, I’ve written a full review (here) if you want to know more of my thoughts, but I gave this book 5 stars.
highly-illogical-behaviour

Crooked Kingdom – By Leigh Bardugo
I took my time with one – I was savoring it, but I finally finished it this month (rather hastily after being spoiled twice). I loved this book, I enjoyed it even more because I was buddy reading it with Nisha from Bookish At Heart. I’m still working on finding the words to express my feeling for this book, but expect a review when I do. Until then know that I gave this book 5 Stars.
crooked-kingdom

Our Chemical Hears – By Krystal Sutherland
I’ve been on a little contemporary kick this month – the first in a couple of years. I picked up the sampler free on kindle and ended up buying the full book. I enjoyed this, although at times I wanted to give the main character a good shake. This is a story about the first love of a teenage boy called Henry, who falls for the new girl Grace. This book is keenly aware of tropes of the genre and addresses within the text the harmful ‘Manic Pixie Dreamgirl’ trope. I am planing on writing a more detailed review for this book over the next week or so, but until then, this book kept me reading into the small hours of the morning and I gave it 3.5 – 4 Stars.
Our Chemical Hearts.jpg

Frostblood – By Elly Blake
I received an ARC of this book with the July Fairyloot box and have been meaning to get to it for a while. This month I’ve been in a weird reading mood and ended up picking this up on a whim. To be honest I had difficulty putting it down again, this book is a real page turner. While there were a few typical YA fantasy tropes in this book but it was still enjoyable and kept me thoroughly entertained. I’m definitely interested in picking up a finished copy when it’s released this January. I’ll hopefully be writing a full review soon (once I’ve had time to gather my thoughts) –  I gave this book a 3.5 – 4 Stars.
Frostblood.jpg

Shadows of Self – By Brandon Sanderson
I’ve not quite finished this yet, I’m not far from the end – I doubt I’ll finish it before the new year (it’s family night) but I am so close. This book is so good, I fully expect to be blown away by the ending. I could go on for ages about why everyone needs to read the Mistborn series. Shadows of Self.jpg

So that was my reading in December, not quite as much as I hoped, but not so bad. I hope you all had a good month and I wish you all an even better new year (2017 has got to get better – but to be honest after 2016, it shouldn’t be too difficult.)

One thought on “December Reading Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

