Mulan Book Tag

I was so excited when I saw that this tag was a thing, Mulan is one of my favourite Disney movies, so of course I have to do it! (Even though I wasn’t tagged by anyone). This tag was created on Kirsty and the Cat Read, I highly recommend checking them out!

The Rules:

  • Mention the creator (Kirsty and the Cat Read)
  • Thank/mention the person who tagged you
  • Match books or characters to the questions below
  • tag as many people as you like

1. Reflection “When will my reflection show who I am inside” – An inaccurate book cover that doesn’t really reflect what the book is about.
I’ve talked about this topic in a recent Top 5 Wednesday post (you can find that post here), but for the purposes of this tag I’m going to talk about The Winners Curse. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t dislike this cover, I just feel like it under-sells this book. To me this cover says fluffy romance with a delicate main character while Kestrel (the main character) is so much more than a love interest. She has a sharp tactical mind, and a talent for battle strategy. While there is a romance within this story, that is not the focus, there is so much more going on.
the-winners-curse

2. Mushu – A character with a lot to prove.
Lisa from Highly Illogical behaviour wants desperately to prove that she is special, smart and stronger than her mother. She is an overachiever who wants to be the best at something. I don’t want to say more in case I spoil the book but if you haven’t read it yet, I highly recommend it – I gave it 5 stars (reviewed here).
highly-illogical-behaviour

3. “I’ll make a man outta you!” – A character who develops the most OR a book with some kick-a** training scenes
Lirael from the Abhorsen/Old Kingdom series, when we first meet her she is quiet, miserable that she doesn’t fit in where she is and desperate to escape her situation. Over the course of the next two books she grows so much. She learns who she is and where she fits in. On top of that she becomes a strong leader and ultimately is ready to do anything to save the world. She grows so much over the course of Lirael and Abhorsen (I’ve yet to read Goldenhand), and her skills with the magics of this world are not to be dismissed.
lirael

4. “A Girl Worth Fighting for” – A ship you will defend till your last breath
I’m not a huge shipper, but I must confess I have a huge soft spot for Kaz and Inej in the Six of Crows Duology. I’m not going to post spoilers, but I feel like they are well matched in that Inej looks for the good and tries to be better and encourage others to be better. She’s also the closest to Kaz’s equal. I have a lot of feelings about these two, they’ve been through so much, they deserve happiness! If you haven’t started this duology yet I highly recommend it, especially if you like character development (you can read my review for Six of Crows here).
six-of-crows

5. Huns – A book/character that gives you the creeps
The Commandant from An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir. She is so ruthless and cruel, there is no telling what she will do next. Plus the idea of the masks that so many of the characters in this book wear is another thing that really gives me the creeps, I just keep picturing their expressionless faces.
an-ember-in-the-ashes

6. Mulan – Your favorite bada** female protagonist
For this I’m going to go with Feyre from the ACOTAR series. While she is far from perfect, from the very start of the series she is out in the woods hunting to keep her family alive. She is fierce in that she will do whatever she can to protect those she cares about, even if that risks herself. Throughout the series she overcomes so much, and while she is effected by the terrible things she encounters, she still works to overcome.
ACOTAR.jpg

These are my answers, what do you think? Do you think I overlooked a book or character in an answer – my mind sometimes goes blank – let me know in the comments.

I’m going to tag a few people, Katie & Becca no pressure, if you don’t want to do it, that’s fine. Similarly if I didn’t tag you and you want to do this tag, consider yourself tagged. If you decide to post your own answers, please let me know, I’d love to read your answers!

4 thoughts on “Mulan Book Tag

  1. I totally agree with you about The Winner’s Kiss. I totally thought it was going to be a fluffy little book or something just about a spoiled rich little princess, fully not prepared for the intensity the book had or the main character. Great point, and gosh, I love this tag. One day I’m definitely going to have to do it – Mulan is the best. Fantastic points! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

