Monthly Recommendations – New To Me Authors 2016

This post is part of monthly recommendations, (the goodreads group is linked here) – I’m a little late posting this list because I’ve been ill, but it’s finally ready.

Writing this list allowed me to realize how many amazing authors I read for the first time this year. So many of these authors, I now consider favourites. So, in no particular order:

  1. Maggie Stiefvater
    I picked up The Raven Boys at the beginning of the year and it became an instant favorite. I devoured the entire Raven Cycle within the space of a few months. I fell in love with the characters and the world created in these books. I’ve tabbed so many pages for either beautiful descriptions, great atmospheric writing or character interactions and I feel like I’ll find something new to love with every reread.
    dsc00453.jpg
  2. Marie Rutkoski
    The Winners trilogy is another series that I devoured towards the beginning of this year, I loved the characters and the world she built in these books. Everything is so well thought out, the twists and turns kept me completely gripped.
    the-winners-curse
  3. Alwyn Hamilton
    When I bought Rebel of the Sands early this year it was a total cover buy, but then I read it in less than two days straight. I could not put it down. I wanted to reread it right away and the sequel immediately became on of my most anticipated reads of 2017.
    rebel-of-the-sands
  4. Sarah Porter
    I was enchanted by Vassa in the night (you can read my review here). I loved the style, it felt really unique and I’m definitely interested in reading more by Sarah Porter.
    vassa-in-the-night
  5. Becky Chambers
    The long way to a small angry planet combines several elements that I adore. Space travel, an ensemble cast of characters, character focused story telling and a lovely f/f romance. To top it off, it’s done really well, with excellent, developed world building, making it an instant favourite. I enjoyed it so much that I pre-ordered the sequel/companion novel ‘A closed and common orbit’ and I am really looking forward to reading it (hopefully sooner rather than later).
    small-angry-planet
  6. Renee Ahdieh
    I read both ‘The Wrath and the Dawn’ and ‘The Rose and the Dagger’ this summer and I really enjoyed both the story and the writing. These books are filled with vivid description and beautiful quotes and I’m really looking forward to future books from Renee Ahdieh.
    the wrath and the dawn.jpg
  7. Ben Aaronovitch
    I can’t believe I only started reading the Rivers of London series this year, I feel much more connected to the series. These books are incredible, they combine police procedural and mystery elements with magic and supernatural creatures in such a unique, entertaining way. But what makes it work is the writing, full of diverse characters, and written with a dry, sarcastic humour, these incredible books have become an automatic buy for me.
    Rivers of London.jpg
  8. Sabaa Tahir
    When I read ‘An Ember in the Ashes’ earlier on this year, I immediately understood the hype that surrounded this book when it was first released. I couldn’t put it down, I had to know what would happen next. Plus, it’s an interesting world that’s being built in this book, I’m really looking forward to seeing how everything develops in the sequel (another book I got as soon as it was released, but haven’t gotten around to yet – there is a theme here!).
    An Ember in the Ashes.jpg
  9. Melissa Landers
    I picked this up partially because I’d heard a few good reviews and partially because I was drawn in by the cover. I loved it. It gave me firefly vibes (I loved that show and I’m always searching for something to fill that void). I really enjoyed the characters, the adventure and the various twists and turns throughout. I just love story’s about a group of people (not always on the ‘right’ side of the law) traveling through space. I’m really excited for the sequel/companion novel coming out in early 2017!
    Starflight.jpg

There we have it, my favourite new to me authors of 2016, there’s still time for me to ‘discover’ a new favourite author, but this list is accurate as of the beginning of December. Do you have any recommendations for me based on this list? I’m always happy to hear them in the comments.

Leave a Reply

