November 2016 Reading Wrap Up

 

Vassa in the Night – By Sarah Porter – I thoroughly enjoyed this book, which is unlike anything I’ve read before. The writing was beautiful and the story was captivating  and full of surprises. My full review for this book can be found here, but spoiler alert, I gave this book 5 Stars.
Vassa in the Night.jpg

Snow Like Ashes – By Sara Raasch – I picked this up in a kindle sale in the summer and had been meaning to get to it for a while now. I really enjoyed this, the various kingdoms are really interesting and this book set up for some interesting things. This book kept me engaged and reading, its playing with a lot of common YA fantasy tropes (I’m not a fan of the potential love triangle growing here) but I’m intrigued to see where this series goes. I’ll be picking up the second book soon – this was a solid 3.5 star read for me.
Snow like Ashes.jpg

Dying for a Living – By Kory M Shrum – Another kindle read, this time an urban fantasy/paranormal story. This book is the first in a series and is currently free to download on kindle (at the time of writing). It follows Jesse, a death replacement agent, she dies for other people. This book had a really unique premise and world, although it was complicated at times the world felt well-developed. The characters were interesting and there was some diversity in that the main character is most likely bisexual, one of her love interests is a lesbian woman (although the other is a guy – hello love triangle). My only problem was the writing was sometimes confusing and I struggled to keep the characters straight in my head. I also had a few minor issues – OCD was used as an adjective at one point for example. However it kept me entertained the whole way through, and I am interested in continuing this series ( I want to know where this is going) – I gave this book 3 Stars.
dying for a living.jpg

The Beauty Volume 1 – By Jeremy Haun, Jason A. Hurley & John Rauch – This fast paced graphic novel follows two detectives in a world where a sexually transmitted disease makes people beautiful, but at what cost. I read this in one sitting and I enjoyed it. I believe volume 2 is coming out soon, but this volume stands well on its own, although I am curious to see where this story goes next. I didn’t feel hugely connected to the characters, and while it’s a good story with attractive art work, I’m not sure how long this will sick with me. I gave this 3.5 stars.
the beauty.jpg

Gotham Academy Volume 1: Welcome to Gotham Academy – By Becky Cloonan, Brenden Fletcher & Karl Kerschl – I’ve been interested in reading this for a while, and I have to say I really enjoyed it. While I haven’t read many DC comics before this I was able to follow the story well enough and the mysteries and characters kept me engaged throughout. In addition I loved the art work and the use of colour throughout. I’ll definitely be picking up the next volumes soon. I gave this book 5 stars.
Gotham Academy vol 1.jpg

Currently Reading

Crooked Kingdom – By Leigh Bardugo – The wait for this book, combined with the hype, and the fact that it’s the last book in a series, made my postpone reading this despite the fact that I had pre-ordered it. If it weren’t for the fact that I am buddy reading it with Nisha from Bookish at Heart, I might not have gathered the courage to pick it up for some time. Having said that, as soon as I started reading I was completely invested. I’ve not finished this yet, I’m savoring the last of the grishaverse for the foreseeable future. Rest assured when I do finish this book, a detailed review will follow.
Crooked Kingdom.jpg

December TBR

I completely failed to read most of the books from my TBR for this month, things never seem to go to plan. However here are some of the books that I’m hoping to get to before the end of the year:

  • The Hanging Tree – By Ben Aaronovitch
  • A Torch Against the Night – By Sabaa Tahir
  • A Closed and Common Orbit – By Becky Chambers
  • Shadows of Self – By Brandon Sanderson
  • Three Dark Crowns – By Kendare Blake

The list could honestly go on for a while. I’m hoping I manage to get a lot of reading done over the holidays, but only time will tell.

Leave a Reply

