November Book Haul

I started this month planing on not buying any books. My TBR has been growing faster than I can read, I did make it almost two weeks before I broke and bought books, so I tried. I’m also trying to read more different things, so hopefully that is reflected in my book buying for this month.

Station Eleven – By Emily St. John Mandel – I picked this up second hand from a local charity shop, and it’s a book that I’ve been aware of for a while but haven’t got around to picking up. I’m looking forward to getting to this one – I’ve heard some really good things.
Station Eleven.jpg

The Golem and the Djinni – By Helene Wecker – Another great charity shop find, I’ve nearly picked this up on kindle a couple of times, but I prefer a physical copy where possible. This is another book that I’ve heard good things about.
the-golem-and-the-djinni

Crooked Kingdom – By Leigh Bardugo – I picked up the UK paperback version of this book so I could take it out and about with me because I couldn’t bear the thought of damaging that beautiful hard cover with the stained pages. I am also using this edition to tab all my favourite scenes/quotes. I’m so glad I picked this copy up, now I can enjoy this book without worrying.
crooked-kingdom

Ice Like Fire – By Sara Raasch – I read and enjoyed snow like ashes earlier this month so when I saw the next book on buy one get one half price I picked it up. Hopefully I’ll get to this before the end of the year, I’m interested to see where this story will go next.
Ice Like Fire.jpg

Nemesis – By Anna Banks –  This book came in Novembers Royals & Rogues themed Fairyloot box, and I am really looking forward to picking it up. I had been aware of this book before its release, it was already on my wishlist so I was happy when I unboxed it.
Nemesis.jpg

All the light we cannot see – By Anthony Doerr – I’ve been hearing wonderful things about this award winning book for a while now, so when it was on Kindle sale, I snapped it up. I’ve been reading more on my kindle app recently, and while this is quite different from what I normally pick up, I’m looking forward to a change.
All the light we cannot see.jpg

The Three Body Problem – By Cixin Liu (translated by Ken Liu) –  Another highly acclaimed book which I picked up in the kindle sale. I’ve been interested in picking this up for a while, so I seized the opportunity. I often feel like I don’t read enough Sci-fi, so hopefully this will help with that.
The Three Body Problem.jpg

Graphic Novels
I’ve been wanting to explore the DC comics universe for a while now and this month I read volume one of Gotham Academy and loved it. Shortly after I went on a shopping trip to York – home of one of my favourite comic book shops Traveling Man (they have four UK locations and a well worth checking out). Needless to say I came home with a few new graphic novels to read.

Batgirl volume 1: Batgirl of Burnside – By Cameron Stewart, Brenden Fletcher, Babs Tarr & Maris Wicks -This one really appealed to me and I’ve heard some good things, I’m looking forward to giving it a try.
batgirl-vol-1

Batwoman volume 1: Hydrology – By J.H. Williams III & W. Haden Blackman – I picked up a single issue of Batwoman several years ago and have been meaning to pick up the series ever since.
Batwoman vol 1 hydrology.jpg

Gotham Academy – Volumes 2 & 3 – After enjoying volume one so much I wasn’t going to wait to pick up the next volumes. I really enjoyed the characters and their friendships which formed in volume one and I’m looking forward to seeing what happens next.
gotham-academy-vol-2Gotham Academy vol 3.jpg

So the books just sort of piled up there. I’m hoping to get a lot of reading done over the next month to make up for all the books I’ve been buying. I need to be stopped. Have you read any of the books in this haul? Which books should I make a priority? Got any tips on self control? Feel free to chat with me in the comments.

Leave a Reply

