My Bookish History Tag

I was tagged by kourtnireads, you can find her post here, thankyou so much for tagging me, I’m sorry it took me a while to post this.

Rules:
1. Link back to whoever tagged you
2. Discuss based on these questions or create your own to help you out.

Do you have any childhood favourites?
When I was younger, my mum used to read to me, many of those have a special place in my heart. The ones that stand out the most are: The Chronicles of Narnia, The Hobbit, The Lord of the Rings and of course Harry Potter (specifically the earlier books, I read the later ones by myself).
hp1

Is there a book/series that really got your reading hobby snowballing?
There have been books and series that advanced my love of reading at various stages of my life. While my love for the Harry Potter series was in full force, The Series of Unfortunate Events books by Lemony Snicket  were what got me through the wait for my next Harry Potter fix. When I was a bit older the Old Kingdom series by Garth Nix reinforced my love of fantasy books. Then at about 15 I read Twilight in about a day, I was depressed and the joy of reading had been slipping away (dyslexia + depression meant that reading was difficult and tiring), but I needed the next book. I reread those books so many times in the space of a few months. While I recognize they are problematic and the writing is not fantastic, they revived my love of reading and led to me reading so many better books. For that I am grateful.
bad-beginning

Are there any books you enjoyed, even though you had to read them for school?
I really had to think about this one, but then I remembered, while it wasn’t specifically assigned, I really enjoyed To Kill a Mocking Bird by Harper Lee. It was on a recommended reading list for my English Literature class, and I am so glad I picked it up (I stayed up late into the night to finish it). This is definitely a book that I’d like to reread one day.

Was there a book that changed the genres that you read?
As I already mentioned the Old Kingdom series by Garth Nix rekindled my love of the fantasy genre. Twilight introduced me to paranormal romance (not my favourite these days, but it opened my eyes to a whole new selection of reading options).
oldkingdom

Was there any other books/series that hold a special place in your heart?
From more recent years, too many to mention. I feel like I’ve finally found what I really like, and because of that over recent years I have read many books that will forever be special to be for various reasons, but I think that’s probably best left for another post.

What kind of bookworm are you now?
I am a book hoarder. A book dragon if you will. Books are one of the things that calm me down and allow me to feel safe no matter what. I cannot remember a time in my life when I wasn’t surrounded by books, nor can I imagine a future without them. I don’t ever leave the house without reading material. Usually I’m carrying a book and I have the Kindle app on my phone just in case.

Do you have a shelfie for us?
Unfortunately, due to limited space, I can’t display my books on shelves so I’m unable to post a shelfie. However if you do want to see some of my book collection, you can check out my bookstagram here.

I’m going to tag a few people, Katie, Becca & Nisha  no pressure, if you don’t want to do it, that’s fine. Similarly if I didn’t tag you and you want to do this tag, consider yourself tagged. If you decide to post your own book history tag, please let me know, I’d love to read your answers!

 

 

5 thoughts on “My Bookish History Tag

  1. It’s so funny to me how many bloggers simultaneously love and hate Twilight haha So many of us (myself included) feel conflicted about the books because they’re problematic and/or not very well-written but they also helped a lot of us get back into reading so it’s hard not to feel at least a little grateful for them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

