Review – Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Six of Crows.jpg

  • Title: Six of Crows
  • Author: Leigh Bardugo
  • Publisher: Indigo
  • pages: 491
  • Release Date: 29th September 2015

Synopsis from goodreads:

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge
A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager
A runaway with a privileged past
A spy known as the Wraith
A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums
A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes

Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.

Six of Crows is the first book in a duology set in the Grisha universe, which takes place after the events of Ruin and Rising, the final book in the Grisha trilogy. I should note that you do not need to have read the Grisha trilogy to understand this book, but it does contain some minor spoilers for the trilogy.

I first read this book when it first came out last year, and while I enjoyed it, it took me quite a long time to get through. I recently decided to reread it and I definitely enjoyed it more the second time around. I think that for me, knowing what was going to happen allowed me to focus more on the characters and their interactions. This is actually one of my favourite aspects of this book. Its ensemble cast of characters are all fully fleshed out with histories, motivations and distinct voices. While Six of Crows is a very eventful book full of twists and turns, one of its strengths is that the characters are well developed and each have their times to shine.

Lets talk about those characters. Six of Crows boasts and impressively diverse cast of characters. One of the characters is dealing with a physical disability – something that is rarely seen in a main character in YA or fantasy. There is a female character who is plus sized, has a major sweet tooth, who is not shamed and is considered sexy. This is also something I’ve never seen in the YA genre and I think we need more self confident female characters like this, I know it would have made a difference to me when I was younger. There are characters of different races, from different corners of the Grisha world and there are also LGBTQIA+ characters. I’m not going to go into any more details so as not to spoil anyone but representation is so important, and I feel this book does a pretty good job.

The writing is spectacular. There were so many quotes and scenes that i tabbed because they stood out to me. My reread has only allowed me to pick up on even more of the wonderful dialogue and descriptions. This was even more apparent on rereading as the first time round I was so absorbed by the storyline. Also the world building in this book expands on the Grisha trilogy, fleshing out different regions, cultures and politics. It’s rare for a fantasy world to feel this solid, vast and real.

The plot is full of surprises, and twists, just when you think you know where things are going new information is revealed. This is a book that kept me guessing till the very last page. Then, it had me cursing the year long wait to find out what happens next.

This book took me a while to work through, but it was entirely worth it. I gave this book a 4.5 stars.

My review for Crooked Kingdom should be coming in a few weeks.

7 thoughts on “Review – Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

    1. You’re so kind to say, I’m never confident in my writing style so that really means a lot. I really liked your review, you have a lovely writing style. I’m really enjoying our Crooked Kingdom buddy read, it’s really nice to be able to discuss things as I read them, it’s definitely enhancing my reading experience.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Gosh can’t believe I missed this comment! It’s completely true, so you’d better believe your writing style is awesome. 🙂 I get self-conscious too about my posts, and spend way too long crafting them before realising this is a hobby not a job!

        Glad you’re enjoying the buddy read, honestly I’ve been raving about it to everyone I meet (including a Waterstones bookseller today lol) haha

        Like

Leave a Reply

