Top 5 Wednesday – Favourite Publishers

This post is part of Top 5 Wednesday, created by Lainey , and now hosted by Sam from Thoughtsontomes, you can find the goodreads group, with all the weekly topics here.

November 16th: Favorite Publishers
–I thought this topic would be a cool way to examine what we read and what publishers put out our favorite books. I encourage you to take a look at your shelf and figure out which books come from which publishers. I think you’d be surprised how many probably end up coming from the same publishing house! Plus, this is your chance to introduce us to some of your favorite small presses or imprints. We talk about the contents or the wrappings of books a lot in this group, but rarely do we talk about the people that bring them together.

I think this is such an interesting topic, and while there were a couple of entry’s that occurred to be right away, I like that it made me look at my favorite reads and look at the publishers and imprints that brought me so much joy.

  1. Gollancz
    This imprint of the Orion Publishing Group specializes in  science fiction and fantasy and I have quite a lot of books published by them. Gollancz is the UK publisher of books by Brandon Sanderson & Ben Aaronovitch (I automatically buy books by these two) among many other great authors that I have yet to read (Patrick Rothfuss and Scott Lynch for example).
    victor-gollancz-logo
  2. Image Comics
    Image has brought me some of my all time favorite graphic novels. I love the variety of the books they publish, I also really like how the first volumes of their series tend to be priced lower than normal graphic novels – this has led me to pick up some fantastic books. Some of my favorites are The Wicked + the Divine, Saga and Monstress.
    image-comics
  3. Bloomsbury
    I feel like Bloomsbury will probably be on a lot of peoples lists today after all this is the publisher behind the Harry Potter series. If that wasn’t enough they also publish the Throne of Glass series (and the ACOTAR Books) by Sarah J. Maas and The Bone Season series by Samantha Shannon and it is for all these wonderful series, that Bloomsbury makes my list this week.
    bloomsbury-logo-solo
  4. Harper Voyager
    This imprint of Harper Collins is another which focuses on science fiction and fantasy (can you guess my favorite genres?) So I had a look at my shelves and noticed that Harper Voyager published Nevernight by Jay Kristoff and An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir in the UK. Since these were some of my favorite reads of the year, I had to include them on my list.
    HC_Imprints_SearchResults_HarperVoyager.jpg
  5. Hodder & Stoughton
    Last but certainly not least is Hodder & Stoughton, this is the British publishing house which brings us books by  many renowned authors including Stephen King. The reason this is on my list is that some of my all time favorite authors, Laini Taylor and Becky Chambers (both of these ladies have written books which will stay with me forever). In addition they will be publishing Caraval by Stephanie Garber in the UK, this is becoming an anticipated release for me thanks to all the buzz it’s receiving.

So there you have it, my top 5 favorite publishers, it was definitely interesting to look at the publishing companies behind the books I love. Hope you’re all well.

Leave a Reply

