October Book Haul

I will be the first to admit that sometimes I have a bit of a book buying problem, and just recently I seem to be amassing new books with out realizing it. October was no exception, although I’m going to try and focus on reading the books I already own for the rest of the year.

Novels

  • Gemina by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff – I was incredibly lucky to win a copy of this highly anticipated follow up to Illuminae on an Instagram giveaway run by the UK publisher (Rock the Boat) which arrived shortly before publication. I have a review for this book already poster here, if you want to see my thoughts on it.
  • Goldenhand by Garth Nix – this continuation of the Old Kingdom series was a highly anticipated release for me. I was also lucky enough to get my copy signed when I met Garth Nix at an event at my local Waterstones this month.
  • Shadows of Self by Brandon Sanderson – Part of the Mistborn series, this came out in paperback this month so I had to pick it up.
  • The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern – I sometimes feel like I’m one of the only people out there who hasn’t read this yet, and I hear such wonderful things about it. So, when I saw the new vintage edition on offer at my local bookstore, I just had to pick it up. Hopefully I can get to this before the end of the year.
  • Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake – I’ve been hearing so much buzz surrounding this book, and its unique premise. I’m really looking forward to reading it.
  • A Closed and Common Orbit by Becky Chambers – The long way to a small angry planet quickly became one of my favourite reads of the year, so I immediately pre-ordered the sequel which was released this month.
  • Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida Córdova – This book has been getting an incredible amount of love on social media just lately. It follows Alex, the most powerful bruja in a generation, she hates magic and casts a spell to rid herself of her powers which backfires. This is a story enriched in Latinx culture and features a bisexual main character, and I just can’t wait to read it.
  • Metaltown by Kristen Simmons – This book came as part of this months Steampunk rebellion fairyloot box. “Metaltown, where factories rule, food is scarce, and hope is in short supply.” While I had never heard of this before this box, I am looking forward to reading this.
  • The Hanging Tree by Ben Aaronovitch – The latest installment of the Rivers of London (or PC Peter Grant) series. I was able to buy my copy a few days before its official release at an event and signing at a nearby Waterstones. The event was great and I can’t wait to devour this book.

Graphic Novels

  • The Wicked + The Divine: Rising Action (Volume 4) – By Kieron Gillen, Jamie McKelvie, Matt Wilson – the latest installment from my favourite graphic novel series. I have already read this, and gave it 5 Stars.
  • Gotham Academy Volume 1: Welcome to Gotham Academy by Becky Cloonan, Brenden Fletcher & Karl Kerschl – I’ve been interested in this series for a while and I finally picked up the first volume at the end of this month.
  • The Beauty Volume 1 by Jeremy Haun, Jason A. Hurley & John Rauch – This is based around the idea that physical perfection can be obtained via a sexually transmitted disease, and follows detectives investigating the cost. I haven’t read this yet, but I plan on doing so soon.

I think that’s everything, I need to keep better track of what books I’m buying because I definitely bought more than I thought I did this month and I’m not reading as fast as I was this time last year. I feel like my TBR is getting a bit out of hand.

Leave a Reply

