October 2016 Reading Wrap Up

This’s everything I finished in October, the month started out strongly but work got crazy towards the end of the month so I struggled to find the time and energy to read much. Happily due to the shorter books I managed to fit in this month, I’m still on top of my goodreads goal for the year.

The Princess Saves Herself in This One – By Amanda Lovelace – I downloaded this onto my kindle app after seeing it all over tumblr months ago. This month I was feeling slumpy and wanted a change so I decided to pick it up. I hadn’t read any poetry since I was in college (although I do listen to some on occasion) so I didn’t know how I’d get on with it. Well, this collection fits together wonderfully, and I found myself reading page after page. I book marked so many beautiful pieces which spoke to me personally, it really was an emotional journey. I gave this collection 4 stars.

the-princess-saves-herself-in-this-one

Lirael – By Garth Nix – This was a reread for me, in preparation for the release of Goldenhand, but because it had been so long since I last read it, it was almost like reading an old favourite for the first time again. I had forgotten more than I had realised, and I enjoyed this reread all the more for it. This book will forever be one of my all time favourites and as such, I could not give it any less than 5 stars.

lirael

Gemina – By Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff – The much anticipated follow up to Illuminae, this was one of my most anticipated releases of the year. I was not disappointed, while it follows different characters, it has all the thing I loved in the first one and some plot twists that blew my mind. My only problem is that I have to wait a year for the next book. I  have already posted a full review for this book here if you want to read more of my thoughts, I of course gave this book 5 Stars.

Gemina.jpg

Abhorsen – By Garth Nix – Another reread of a longtime favourite, this follows on pretty much directly from where Lirael left off and gets straight into the action. This book is so fast paced, there is so much going on and it packed just as big of an emotional punch as it did the first time I read it. Another 5 Star read.

abhorsen

The Wicked + The Divine: Rising Action (Volume 4) – By Kieron Gillen, Jamie McKelvie, Matt Wilson – This is possibly my favorite ongoing graphic novel series, I actually buy the individual issues to avoid getting spoiled, but I always pick up the collected volumes when they are released and I read this in preparation for the next issue. All I can say is this is possibly my favourite story arcs so far, so much happened in this one and I can’t wait to find out what happens next! I gave this volume 5 Stars.

wicdiv-4

Scarlet Witch: Witches Road (vol 1) – The Scarlet Witch is one of my favourite characters in the Marvel universe so I was interested to read a solo story about her. However while I enjoyed the exploration of magic and witchcraft, the story felt disjointed. Many of the issues collected here worked as stand-alones which I feel limited the exploration of her character. I will probably be picking up the next volume when it is released as I am not ready to give up on this one yet, however I gave this volume 3.5 Stars.

Scarlet Witch Vol 1.jpg

There were so many books that I hoped I would get to this month, my TBR is getting a little out of hand, so here’s hoping for a better next month. Hope you all had good reading months.

Leave a Reply

