Beauty and the Beast Book Tag

I wasn’t tagged but I felt like mixing it up a bit and decided to do it anyway. The original tag post can be found hereΒ if you want to check it out (i recommend it), also if you want to do the tag yourself, consider yourself tagged.

1 – “Tale as old as time” – A popular theme, trope or setting you will never get bored of reading.
I struggled with this one, I have to go with a ragtag crew traveling through space. I haven’t read many examples, but I loved The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet by Becky Chambers and Starflight by Melissa Landers. Basically anything that will give me Firefly vibes. If you have any recommendations, please let me know, I’m always on the lookout for books like this.

2 – “Belle” – A book you bought for its beautiful cover, that’s just as beautiful inside too.
For this I would have to say Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton, I picked this book up initially because of its stunning cover (the picture doesn’t do it justice, the gold bits shine) and when I read the blurb on the back seemed interesting. The story inside is every bit as wonderful as its outside, the main character is a gutsy sharpshooter who wants to travel and her story kept me gripped to the end, I wanted to read it again after I finished it for the first time in just two days. I’m really looking forward to the sequel.

Rebel of the Sands.jpg

3 – “Beast” – A book you didn’t expect much from, but was pleasantly surprised by.
Okay hear me out on this one, from the blurb, The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater sounded more like a romance with a love triangle, which is fine if that’s what you’re looking for, but it isn’t really for me. What I got was a story where friendship took priority, a story with magic, psychics and snappy dialogue. I fell totally in love with this series and its dreamy writing.

The Raven Boys.jpg

4 – “Gaston” – A book everyone loves that you don’t.
For this I would have to say The Maze Runner by James Dashner, while I didn’t hate this book, buy I didn’t really enjoy it either. To be honest I mostly kept reading out of curiosity, I wanted to know what was going on. In the end I couldn’t motivate myself to continue with the series.

maze-runner

5 – “Lefou” – A loyal sidekick you can’t help but love more than their counterpart
While I don’t dislike any of the main characters in this series, my favourite character in the Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer is Iko. She is just so delightful and I always wanted to see more of her.

cinder

6 – “Mrs Potts, Chip, Lumier & Cogsworth” – A book that helped you through a difficult time or taught you something valuable.
For this I have to go for The Old Kingdom Series by Garth Nix, I read this when I was in high school, and I credit this series with making me the fantasy reader I am today. This series is also the first series I finished myself in a relatively short amount of time at a time where I had no self esteem (I now know that I am dyslexic and am much kinder to myself) and was painfully shy and depressed. Abhorsen is also the first book that ever made me really cry (I mean I sobbed into my pillow at 2am as I finished it) This series will forever have a place in my heart.

oldkingdom

7 – “Something there” – A book or series that you weren’t into at first, but picked up towards the end.
I struggled to get into The Winners Curse by Marie Rutkoski at first, I’m not sure why. However just before the half way point, I found this was no longer and issue and I instead had difficulty putting the book down. From that point on I was hooked and I love the trilogy as a whole and had no difficulty getting into the following books. I think it just took me a while to get into the world and get a feel for the story and characters.

the-winners-curse

8 – “Be our guest” – A fictional character that you’d love to have over for dinner.
There were so many characters I wanted to put for this, but in the end I’m going to go with Lirael from the old kingdom series. I related quite a bit to her character, especially early on, and I’d love to hear about all the things she learnt in her years as a librarian and in her adventures after. Also in the books she’s so busy trying to save the world, she deserves a night off.

lirael

That’s it, these are my answers, what do you think. Any book recommendations based on my answers are greatly welcome and i you decide to do the tag yourself, let me know, I’d love to read your answers.

9 thoughts on “Beauty and the Beast Book Tag

Leave a Reply

