Review – Gemina By Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

Illuminae, by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff was one of my favourite reads of 2015, my review can be found here, so you can imagine that the follow-up would be one of my most anticipated releases of 2016. I was lucky enough to win an early finished copy on an Instagram giveaway run by Rock the Boat (the UK publisher).

Synopsis from goodreads:

Hanna Donnelly is the station captain’s pampered daughter and Nik Malikov is the reluctant member of a notorious crime family. Together they struggle with the realities of life aboard the galaxy’s most boring space station, blissfully unaware that Kady Grant and the Hypatia are headed right toward Heimdall with news of the Kerenza invasion.

This book picks up five minutes from where Illuminae left off, on Heimdall and follows what happens next. For the majority of this book, we follow new characters, but as before, I soon found my self caring about what happened to them. This book has everything I loved about the first book, and more. Stunning illustrations from Marie Lu were a lovely touch that built on the already amazing design work.

I don’t want to give too much away about the plot and risk spoiling anyone, but I will say that Gemina builds on the strengths of Illuminae with the same sense of humor, witty dialogue and edge of your seat action. If you are worried that Gemina just rehashes Illuminae with different characters, you couldn’t be more wrong and the new characters are distinctive and interesting from the start. There were many points throughout that the plot caught me off guard and several moments where I found myself gasping in surprise and amazement. But I’m not going to say much more because I recommend you find out for yourself all the different ways that this book is amazing.

IMG_20161014_221119.jpg

This book had me reading late in to the night, desperate to know what happens next, and once it was over, the ending left me desperate to get my hands on the next book. I could not give this book anything less than 5 stars.

4 thoughts on “Review – Gemina By Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

Leave a Reply

