Top 5 Wednesday – Books that took me the longest to finish

This post is part of Top 5 Wednesday, created by Lainey , and now hosted by Sam from Thoughtsontomes, you can find the goodreads group, with all the weekly topics here.

This weeks topic is books that took the longest to finish. I’m only counting books from the past few years (since I started my current goodreads) because I honestly can’t remember further back, and I was really slow and infrequent with my reading before.

1 – Stars Above by Marissa Meyer  – this took me around 21 days to finish according to my goodreads. I’m fairly sure that this is somewhat to do with the fact that this book is short stories. They provided natural stopping points, which made picking it back up more of a conscious decision than a “I must know what happens next” situation. Also I didn’t enjoy some of the earlier stories as much as the later ones. Overall though, this was a good well rounded collection, and a good companion to the main series so I gave it 4 stars.

2 – Starborn by Lucy Hounsom – This took me two and a half weeks to read, and it felt very slow. I really wanted to like this, but I could not connect to the main character, the plot was slow moving and I worked out what was going on way before the characters did (it’s even hinted at in the blurb). All in all, while the world and magic system was interesting, I found the story frustrating. I gave this book 2 stars.

3 – The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson – To be clear, I loved this book, but it did take me a little over two weeks to read. This is mostly because it is 647 pages long, there is a lot going on and a lot of characters to get to know. I did find this relatively easy to get into, and I will happily recommend the mistborn series to anyone who will listen. I gave this book 5 stars.

4 – A Game of Thrones by George R R Martin – This was a big book, I enjoyed it, but since I had already seen the TV series when I read it, I already know what was going to happen next, which I think took some of the desire to keep reading away. I seem to remember carrying this book with me for weeks. I do hope to continue the series someday though.

5 – Maze Runner – by James Dashner – I have idea exactly how long this took me to get through, but it was weeks. I found the plot interesting, and I did want to find out all the answers, but I struggled to connect. While I did not dislike this book, I didn’t love it either and in the end I decided not to continue with the series. I gave this book 3 stars.

Leave a Reply

