September 2016 Reading Wrap Up

I didn’t quite manage to get as much reading done as I wanted to this month due to work and anxiety levels, but I managed to keep on track with my goodreads goal, so I’m not too upset about it. Hopefully October is better.

Nevernight – by Jay Kristoff

This dark anticipated release following a young assassin really lived up to the hype, I’ve written a full review (Linked here) expressing my thoughs. Overall I gave this book 4.5 Stars

Empire of Storms – by Sarah J. Maas

The fifth book in the throne of glass series. No spoilers here, I was gripped by the story but while I did enjoy this book, there were a few issues that I had while reading this. Having said that, I couldn’t put it down, and the story took a really interesting direction, so I still gave this book 4.5 stars

The long way to a small angry planet – by Becky Chambers

This book was everything I wanted and so much more besides. It features a wonderful cast of characters, following a multi-species crew traveling through space. I adore space travel stories, and this book gave me that with fantastic character driven storytelling across multiple points of view. I fell in love with pretty much every member of the crew over the course of reading, and I didn’t want to leave the characters when I was finished. This book also features a female/female relationship that warmed my heart and was everything I wanted. All told I could not give this book anything less than 5 stars.

The Graces – by Laure Eve

This book was hard for me to rate. It’s characters are quite a bit younger than me, so at first I thought I might have got more out of this book while I was younger. However this book has two distinct parts. The first half is where I thought teen aged me would have loved and related to this book so much (especially the angsty River and Summer). The second half, where the plot takes an interesting direction might have bothered my teen aged self. As it was the conclusion of this book  triggered my anxiety making it difficult to untangle my thoughts. At this time I’m still digesting everything, maybe I’ll write everything in a review once I’ve sorted through everything. Provisionally I’ve given this book a 3.5/4 Stars

 

 

One thought on “September 2016 Reading Wrap Up

  1. I empathize with not being able to read with work and anxiety. I had the same problem last month and a few times during the summer. I glad to see though that you were able to keep to your Goodreads goal. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

