Review: Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

This book became one of my most anticipated releases of this summer, from the very first teaser I saw, it sounded like something I would enjoy. I was not disappointed.

Nevernight tells the story of Mia Corvere, a 16 year old girl embarking on a path towards revenge. To accomplish this, she seeks to join the Red Church, a school for would be assassins, to become a weapon. Don’t be fooled by the young age of the protagonist, this book contains mature content and is not a young adult book.

First off, I will say that it took me a few chapters to get into this book. The writing style is quite different from what I’m used to, however after a while I found myself enjoying the books distinctive style. The only thing I continued to struggle with was the footnotes throughout the novel. While they are a fun, quirky way of world-building, and filling in the reader on information not shown within the chapters; I found myself losing where I was on the page (although this may be because of my dyslexia) and occasionally forgetting what was happening in the story. Apart from this I found myself thoroughly enjoying this book and making note of some standout quotes.

The world created in this novel is vivid. From its interesting creatures to its three suns (which means that the world rarely sees true darkness), this world will stand out. There are several dark magic systems with there own rules and limitations. The few main locations which we see in this first book are well shaped and each have there own distinct atmosphere. World building is a definite strength of this book.

Nevernight is unlike anything I’ve read before, and the story kept me gripped to the end, with well mounted tension and a plot which twisted in unexpected ways. There are some memorable creatures, magic systems and locations and I really look forward to discovering more in the sequels.

Overall I give this book 4.5 stars – I will definitely be picking up future books in this series.

One thought on “Review: Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

Leave a Reply

