December 2015 Reading Wrap Up

Heart of the Dead (Perpetual Creatures #1) By Gabriel Beyers

Finished on the 4th of December 2015.

I read this on the Kindle app. It was free to download and from the description it sounded different from the standard ya vampire romance. It was. The vampires in this book were somewhat different from what I’ve become used to, and I have to say I found it refreshing. The story is fast paced, with the bulk of the plot taking place within a few days. While there were some common tropes in this book, the writing was lovely, and I found myself highlighting key quotes and passages so I could revisit them. All in all I enjoyed the book, the plot kept me gripped and I have downloaded the sequel, which I hope to read soon, especially as the set up suggests the story could take an interesting turn. While I did feel that I didn’t get to know of the characters very well, I am hopeful that the characters will be further developed upon in the next installment.

Rating 3.5 out of 5 Stars – I will definitely be picking up the next book to find out what happens next.

 

Illuminae By Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

2015-12-10_13.39.30

Finished on the 13th of December 2015.

No two ways about it, I loved this book. I mean, I think this may be my new favourite book, of 2015, at the very least. I went into it blind, and I think that’s the best way. It was not what I expected, it was so much more than that. With the building tension and the story’s twists and turns, I couldn’t put it down. I don’t know how I can wait a year to find out what happens next.

Rating 5 out of 5 Stars – I need more!

 

These Broken Stars By Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner

wp-1450528711030.jpg

Finished on the 19th December 2015.

I’ve owned this book for almost a year and never felt motivated to read it. That changed after I finished Illuminae (which was co-authored by Amie Kaufman, who also co-wrote this book), which left me in a major Sci-fi / Space mood. I soon found myself questioning why it took me so long to pick this up. I like how the dual perspectives where handled in this book, each of the main characters had a distinctive voice, and were well developed throughout the book. This was a story of survival and romance with mystery elements woven in along with some surprising twists. This book kept me so gripped that it kept me reading into the night until I reached the end. I need to know what happens next, the world drew me in and will definitely be picking up the next book.

Rating 5 out of 5 Stars

 

Saga, Volume 5 By Brian K Vaughan and Fiona Staples.

Finished on the 20th December 2015

This graphic novel series does not slow down for a second in volume 5. Action packed and full of shock twists and turns, this series never fails to surprise me. I’m actually considering getting the individual issues so I can keep up with the action. The art is continuously stunning as well, bring on volume 6.

Rating 4.5 out of 5 stars.

 

The Martian By Andy Weir

PhotoEditor-1451156539111.jpg

Finished on the 30th of December 2015

The hype surrounding this book has been immense, at one point it felt like everybody was singing The Martians praises. Despite that, I wasn’t sure this book was for me, it’s so different from the books I normally go for. I was wrong, this book was fantastic, and surprisingly funny and easy to get through. The main character and narrator, Mark Watney, is well developed and has a clear voice and personality. Most of the book is told through log entry’s, essentially Watney is talking to him self while recording his survival attempts. This could easily have made the book dark and depressing, but the way Watney is written, the sense of humor, prevents the book from becoming too difficult to read.

Rating 5 out of 5 stars – I can not recommend this highly enough, and will probably be picking up the movie when is is released on DVD.

Leave a Reply

